Breakdown 3/31/2020

March 15, 2020 – Memphis

As I walked backstage, I couldn’t take my eyes off of the Adrenaline Championship. It was a surreal moment. It was everything I’d been working up to for so long before this day. I walked past that private locker room that Bree and Sienna shared. Past the area where many fellow wrestlers were gathered backstage watching the show. I went right to the locker room and just sat down. I sat there for what felt like forever before someone walked in. I heard the door open and turned to see Abigail there. Here. In Memphis, Tennessee. I was shocked. I leapt to my feet and met her in an embrace. She laughed at me as I held on to her tightly, still grasping at my new belt.

Abigail: Congrats, Jordan. I’m proud of you. I knew you’d do it.

I let her go and stood next to her and let out a laugh, shaking my head.

Jordan: We’re a long way from the fuck buddies winning at Rise to Greatness.

Abi let out a little sigh and just stared at me. I smile at her reaction and lean into her and giggle.

Jordan: This is just crazy…

Abigail: Why?

Jordan: Honestly I wasn’t sure this would ever happen. All the time I spent busting my ass and trying to get even on par with the people on this roster… I wasn’t sure I’d ever reach the point where I stood as one of SCW’s champions. I know this is the belt so many people love. It means so much to so many people. It means everything to me now.

Abigail: I knew you’d do this. I knew all along.

I sat the title on the bench next to me and crossed my arms as I looked at her.

Jordan: Is this back when you were sprinkling pieces of pink hair around or after that?

Abi laughs and rolls her eyes.

Abigail: You know what I mean.

I nod and sit down next to the title and look up at her.

Jordan: You mentioned maybe coming but… I had no idea you were actually going to do it. I mean what if…

I laugh softly and look down and off to the side, hoping to change course on my own thoughts.

Abigail: What if…?

Jordan: What if you and Jaina run into each other back here?

Abigail: Ah… well, I’m not really worried about her. She’s not so scary.

Jordan: You know that’s not what I mean.

Abigail: Clearly you are worried about it. So I guess that means you don’t know what you want yet.

Jordan: Abi, I…

Abigail: No. Let’s not talk about it. I don’t want to put any pressure on you or anything. I know you’ve got a lot going on.

Jordan: I’m just caught somewhere between what my heart and my mind and my soul all want for me. It’s awful. I’m probably hurting everyone right now. Myself included.

Abi shrugs and looks down at me.

Abigail: Maybe it’s worth it for you.

Jordan: Why would you say that?

Abi gestures down at the title with a nod and I turn and look down at it. I turn back quickly with a sigh.

Jordan: Abs… you know I’m not —

There’s a crash into the door and it swings open frantically. Abi and I both turn and look at the doorway to see Jaina standing there. She looks a little shocked to see Abi and I standing here together. Her eyes are staring a bit of a hole through Abi. I look up and see that Abi has her typical smirk. That look that shows she doesn’t give a shit about this situation. It’s only complicated in our heads because we’ve allowed it to.

Jaina: What are you doing here?

Jordan: Jaina?

Jaina stays quiet and stares at Abigail for a moment longer before those eyes shift over to me.

Jordan: Jaina!?

Jaina: Why aren’t you watching the main event? I’ve been running backstage looking for you.

I quickly look up at the monitor in the locker rooms and see Bree in a bad way, most likely at the hands of James Evans. I turn back and look at Jaina and burst to my feet, leaving Abi behind as I grab Jaina by the wrist and start running toward the ring. We sped down the ramp as fast as I think I had moved all night and searched for the way to get in there and get her out. We saved Bree, but watched as Sienna and Chris took the loss and James retained. It was her perfect plan foiled. All the people involved and it still didn’t swing the tide of momentum into her favor. Maybe she should have thought about not including the new Adrenaline Champion into her plans. I’m probably spiteful to feel that way. We walked Bree up the ramp and back to the private locker room. Jaina walked in with her and turned to look back at me.

Jordan: I’ve got to go get my stuff from the other locker room.

When I got there, it was emptied out. Just the Adrenaline Championship sitting on the bench with the rest of my stuff a few feet away. As I stood there holding the title again, something came across my mind. I was done apologizing for things. This was my life. I had to live it for me, not for everyone else.

March 18, 2020 – Kenner, Louisiana

I traveled back to Louisiana after Retribution to prepare for a court appearance for the incident with my mother. I hadn’t heard from Christina since I was arrested and the subsequent decision I made to end my lease agreement with the landlord. Sitting in Jaina’s jeep, I glanced over at that very apartment as we passed by on the way to Bree’s. Jaina caught me looking that way.

Jaina: I still can’t believe you just ended your lease on your apartment. That probably pissed your mom off even more.

Jordan: It is what it is.

Jaina: But what if she tries to take that out on you in court?

Jordan: What if she does? I’m not going to pander to her and be held hostage anymore. She did that to me all throughout my childhood. I’m not going to let her control me as an adult. I was foolish to think anything would change if I let her stay in that apartment for a while. I should have listened to my gut and just went with it.

Jaina looks away and focuses on the road. That probably felt like a shot at her after she had somewhat convinced me to give that woman another chance. Neither of us had perfect mothers. But hers had shown she could change and get better. Mine had shown she was only capable of getting and doing worse than before. She was never going to get better. Jaina turned back toward me.

Jaina: When are we going to talk about the other night?

Jordan: What about it?

Jaina: I keep waiting for you to take the initiative of telling me why the hell Abigail was in the locker room with you celebrating you winning.

I laugh under my breath and shake my head.

Jordan: I was just as surprised to see her there as you were, boo.

Jaina: Don’t bullshit me. I deserve better than that.

Jordan: I don’t know what you want me to say, babe. I didn’t ask her to be there. But I’m not going to be a dick to her and tell her she can’t congratulate me on winning or just say hello or whatever.

Jaina: But it’s a little different. You just told me recently that there is a part of you that still has some very real feelings toward her. So when I see her showing up from California to the other side of the country to watch you wrestle, it’s hard for my mind not to wonder if this is more of you sneaking off to visit her.

I roll my eyes and let out a huffy, frustrated laugh.

Jordan: This is probably why we haven’t talked about this. Because it wasn’t a big deal to me and because I knew your approach to it would be insecurity.

Jaina: It should be a big deal to you! Because it is a big deal to me, Jordan!

Jordan: Why are you freaking out about this so much?

Jaina: Because when you say you think maybe we got engaged too fast I wonder if you mean maybe you wanted to be with her instead. Because you aren’t just being truthful with me right now. And that hurts!

We come to a complete stop right out in front of Bree’s home and Jaina quickly gets out and slams her door as she walks toward the front door. Bree, who must have been waiting for us, comes walking out and sees Jaina and just shoots me a glance when I get out of the jeep as they turn and walk back inside.

March 19, 2020 – Kenner, Louisiana

I woke up early in Jaina’s room and got myself ready for the court appearance. I dressed in a slender red dress that was sensible, yet sexy. It was probably pushing the limits of what’s appropriate for court. I felt like maybe it displayed confidence. And I was prepared to show up and show my mom that she couldn’t push me around. Jaina was quiet this morning as I got ready. She gave me a look and just a nod as we took off for the courthouse. She pulled up and I got out of the Jeep.

Jordan: Are you going to park then?

Jaina: I need to go take care of some things. You’ll have to handle this one on your own this morning.

I tilt my head and look at her and just sigh.

Jordan: Babe…

Jaina: Text me when it’s over and I’ll come back and get you.

For the second time in just a few weeks, we were fighting. This version of warfare was not going to end in her conceding the points she was making or waving any white flags. No concessions at all. I simply nodded to her and sighed as I slapped a hand nonchalantly on the Jeep and stepped back.

Jordan: Love you…

She nodded to herself for a moment and then slowly pulled away from the curb slowly, leaving me to walk inside and find my way to where I would find out the next steps on this ridiculous charge. Inside I quickly found the lawyer Bree had recommended to me. I had cross checked them with my people up in Chicago. They claimed they had sent her a fool proof plan for getting out of this. There was a part of me that hated myself for being in business with people who seemingly know how to work the system. How to bend the rules like that. But I understood. When our time came, we walked up to our side of the room. The defendant side. We stood. I looked around the room as the judge settled in. No Christina. Not even her boy toy. Over on the other side was just some skinny, pencil-pushing kid fresh out of law school. My lawyer turned to me and smirked.

Judge: I understand the defense made a pre-hearing motion to dismiss the charges today. The defendant, Ms. Majors, was charged with assault in the second degree. Now, I’ve spoken with the prosecution already and the evidence in this case is not substantial. The supposed victim would not submit herself to the proper authorities for documentation of injuries she claimed were caused by the defendant in this case. Frankly, she’s refused to cooperate at all. So in the interest of saving everyone some time here, I’m going to make this one quick. This court has no choice but to agree with the defense’s motion to dismiss these charges, and based on recommendation from prosecution we will immediately remove the arrest from the record of Ms. Majors.

I felt a sense of relief wash over me. But it felt somehow wrong. I knew what I did. I felt guilty in retrospect for punching her in the face. Even if my mom is a bitch and she’s done so much to me in the past. Unforgivable things. Somehow, tooth for a tooth never justified things in my mind.

Judge: Let me just say though, Ms. Majors. I’d rather not see you in my court again. I don’t like the idea of wealthy people buying their way out of charges at any cost. I’d recommend you think about the situations you’re putting yourself in for the future. I know in your profession, from what I read about you in this case, you can fight your way out of any problem. Do not expect to fight your way out of this courtroom if you come back here again.

The judge stared me down as he grabbed the gavel and banged it once.

Judge: Next case please…

My attorney gave me another smirk and gestured to me to leave with her with just a head nod. We split separate ways in the hallway and instead of getting Jaina to return, I got an Uber to take me back to Bree’s. When I arrived, the Jeep was back there. I headed into the house and up to Jaina’s room, mostly ignored. When I walked in, Jaina was sitting there in a chair, looking at her phone. She looked up at me and stared like she was waiting for me to say something.

Jordan: They dismissed the charges.

Jaina: Good.

I sat down next to her and sighed. Just days earlier I had secured the biggest win of my career. Now I was about to lay down and take the pin from my fiance to play the peacekeeper.

Jordan: I’m sorry, Jaina. I’ve been selfish. I’ve only been thinking of myself knowing that it was going to hurt someone. It’s going to hurt you, it’s going to hurt me… it’s even going to hurt other people. But I was right when I said we probably got engaged way too fast. Like, way too fast. I love you so much. I want to marry you someday. No doubt. But I look at people we know. Look at Bree and her history. Look at your mom and her history. For people like us, these relationships are so complicated in this business. After we fought that last time, I took a ride to the next town with Asher Hayes, and he told me something that scared the shit out of me…

I swallowed hard and looked over at her.

Jordan: He told me about the problems he’s had in his life with commitment. How he gets close and it falls apart because of him. Because he gets close to someone else or something else tempts him. I feel like that could be me. Like I might have that same problem or something. It’s not like I don’t love you like crazy and I don’t want you. It’s not that you’re not enough. I grew up with just my mom, watching her go from person to person to person. There were so many men in our house.

I let out another sigh and looked down at the ground.

Jordan: I’m just afraid that I’m wired weird. I’m just afraid about what could happen someday. It’s caused me to be a little destructive with us lately. I’m pushing the boundaries and I don’t know why. The only thing that’s constant is you’re still here.

Jaina puts her phone down and looks at me. She reaches into her shirt and pulls out the necklace that holds her engagement ring and just holds it. She changes her glance and looks at the ring.

Jaina: I’m not dumb. I know we moved fast. I know you are complicated. To me you have been worth it this whole time. We started in a complicated way. You were coming for me when I had a boyfriend. He was trying to get me to move in with him in Los Angeles. You were right there. Making things complicated in my head. But he made that decision for him and I. And then you were there and I was available. This has been a whirlwind from the moment we ran in the rain and you kissed me.

I smirk and cross my ankles as I look down to the floor.

Jaina: I just don’t understand where things changed. You couldn’t get enough of me. You were the one that wanted me and I kept opening up more to let you in. I was shocked when you proposed, but I didn’t have any doubts or regrets about saying yes. Somehow it seems like you wish I would have said no or told you we weren’t ready. I don’t know what to think about all of this stuff with you running back to your ex girlfriend.

I pull my head back up and look at her.

Jordan: I told you. There’s just… she has a piece of me. She’s never put any pressure on me.

Jaina: What pressure did I put on you?

I open my mouth to answer, but then stop. It really wasn’t Jaina. It was things behind Jaina. It was Bree telling me to be weary of my brother. But that wasn’t all Bree’s fault either. Bree was a victim of Sienna’s thoughts in that. I shake my head and look at Jaina.

Jordan: I don’t know how to explain it, but it’s not your fault. I think things have just gotten to me. Everything here, since my mom showed up, it all got fucked up. All my stress was right here. All my freedom was elsewhere. She invited me right in.

Jaina: I’m sorry that your mother causes you so much stress, but that’s what we’re here for. Me, Bree, even Scott. We’re your friends.

I smile knowing so much of this is going right over her head. How could I tell Jaina that Bree even played a part in that stress? How could I tell Bree that? The truth was I felt like people were asking me to pick sides. Like I was the ultimate prize in a war that, in the end, no one would truly win just because I picked left, right, up, or down.

Jordan: You’re right babe. I’m sorry.

Jaina just nods and folds her hands into her lap.

Jordan: Are we going to do this forever?

Jaina: I guess that depends.

Jordan: Depends on what?

Jaina: If you’re going to keep doing things like this over and over. Just be honest with me and this won’t happen.

Jaina stood up and kissed me on the forehead and walked toward the door.

Jaina: Lunch will be ready soon.

I watched her leave the room and sat there by myself for a moment. One thing felt behind me, but in front of me… it could get so much worse.

March 22, 2020 – CrescentCity Fitness

I watched myself in the mirror as I did squats with the weight up on my shoulder. The gym was quiet with only a few people around. I wasn’t even sure if Amy had students running around BlackOut today. I finished my reps and sat down on a near bench and draped a towel around the back of my neck and leaned forward.

Amy: Nice win at Retribution. Adrenaline title… that’s one of the favorites in the locker room.

I turned to see Amy standing there. It was the first time I’d seen either of Jaina’s parents since I’d proposed to her. Since we’d gotten engaged. It was a little weird looking at Amy knowing she might be slapping my head off if she knew Jaina and I had taken it that far already.

Amy: I won that title back in 2017. Made Christy Matthews pass out. It was definitely a memorable moment for my career in SCW.

Jordan: I remember it.

Amy: You do?

Jordan: I watched it live. With a group of wrestlers in Chicago. We were all losing our shit when Christy went limp. It was awesome. Probably one of my favorite moments.

Amy: How did I not know you were a fan of mine?

I shrug and hang my head.

Jordan: You’re one of the reasons I do a superkick in the ring. But I didn’t get the kind of formal training you are giving people at the Academy. Who knows, I’d probably be fighting just like you if I did.

Amy chuckles as she looks down at me.

Amy: Nothing wrong with cutting your teeth on the indies before getting a job in the big leagues. No one has the same path. I imagine a lot of people are looking at your path and getting motivated just as they were by mine or any other person.

Jordan: I haven’t done anything special.

Amy: If you hadn’t done anything special in your career, you wouldn’t be the Adrenaline Champion. You earned that. Everyone does. Ok, maybe not Gavin Taylor, but you know what I’m saying.

I laugh and stand up, taking the towel from my neck and letting it hang there as sweat glistens off of my forehead.

Jordan: I know how much this thing means to everyone. I know I have a target on my back probably as wide as the one James Evans has.

Amy: Absolutely.

Jordan: I’m ready for it though.

Amy: That’s the indy background talking.

We both share a soft laugh and then we start to walk together toward the area Wyatt has patrons toss the dirty towels.

Amy: I heard all about the things that went down with your mom. Glad to see that was taken care of.

I make a bit of a cringey face and look away from Amy as I toss my towel in the basket and then force a blank expression when I turn back to her.

Amy: We’re all human, you know. We all deal with different things. Just make sure it doesn’t get in the way of your career or keep you from doing what you do best. And make sure it doesn’t affect the people around you. That’s your support system. Listen to them. They’re only trying to help. Make sure you take what they say and find the best way forward.

I nod to her.

Jordan: Thanks, Amy. You’re right. But, I’ve been fighting through it so far. I hope I can keep doing that.

Amy: You’re never alone. Don’t forget that. I’ve got to get back to kids. It was nice seeing you, and congrats on that win.

I smile and watch as she leaves and then head to the locker room for my stuff. As I leave the gym, I look down the street behind me before heading for my car and then freeze and look back again. My eyes narrow as I focus on a woman sitting along the side of the road with a few belongings next to her. She has a backpack overflowing with clothes sitting beside her. Her hair is strewn about like she hasn’t seen a shower in a few weeks. Her face looked a little worn and dirty. I tried to focus my eyes on her more. There was a familiarity there, but I couldn’t place it. I turned away and started back up the sidewalk toward the parking lot.

Jordan: No fucking way…

I whip myself around and peer down the street right as the woman glances in my direction.

Jordan: Mom…

The woman peers at me, making it clear that it was Christina herself. She was obviously homeless now, a result of me ripping the shelter of my apartment right out from under her. I hurry to the car and get in, looking in the mirror to see the woman standing and looking my way. I put the car in drive and took off. Fuck.

Promo

The camera comes on to show the Adrenaline Championship sitting on a table. Jordan Majors pops into view, having set up her phone camera, and picks up the title.

Look at this ladies and gentleman. Jordan Majors is a champion. I worked tirelessly just to get to the point where I could even fight for a title again. All those failures in the past, they simply made me stronger and prepared me for a moment where I would finally reach the top of the ladder. It’s still so surreal to stand here and hold this title in my grasp. The shock, though, is wearing off. It’s making way to the fact that I have to start getting serious about what’s next. I spoke a big game going into the match where I won this title. Now it’s time to back it up.

Jordan smiles and nods to herself.

I knew when I won this title I would instantly go from hunter to hunted. It’s probably completely overused in this business to even say that. But I knew it. It’s evolution. It’s no mystery. That’s the next step. When you’re on top of the hill, everyone is scheming for the way to knock you off that pedestal and plant their own flag at the top. I think what makes me a little different is that I had to tumble down those hills over and over before I reached the top. I’ve probably learned more than a lot of young stars about the heartbreak that comes when you are tossed to the bottom of the hill. All I see now, is opportunity. There’s opportunity to have great matches and to prove that this is no fluke. Jordan Majors earned her way from nothing to something in the wrestling ring. My tale will be told for years to come.

Jordan puts the title on her shoulder and grins confidently.

They will talk about the girl that walked into this company with nothing to her name and failed form Day 1. She came back with an inheritance and a belief that everyone had a price and everything could be bought. She fell into a pit with the wrong crowd and got forced to fight her way out of it. She got trounced by the TV Champion, twice. She found a new home alongside one of the best in the business and a true Champion for all of America. She found her brother and took on the best tag division in the world. She got thrown in the buy-in and she went all in. She dazzled at the Trios but took the pin that ultimately cost her team the glory. And then, in the ultimate moment of glory, she defeated the coach and the woman who believes she is a mythical bird and now she is your Adrenaline Champion.

Jordan takes the title off of her shoulder and holds it up and nods before placing it back on her shoulder and patting the front plate with her right hand.

Until the moment she has to defend the honor of that championship and her claim to it, she has to take on the challenge of Breakdown. Coming off Retribution, I’m facing Konrad Raab. I have a lot of different personal thoughts about the Iceman. There’s a real aura of mystery around a man who travels the world and has the credentials he does. This is a man who has truly been everywhere. He fights his ass off and it excites me to step into the ring with someone that has his prowess. Do I respect him? You bet I do. Am I going to beat him all over that ring on Wednesday? Of course I am. I’m riding a wave of momentum right now when I step into the squared circle. Konrad is a nice guy. When I say I’m going to beat him down, there’s no hostility meant there. It’s just that winning this title has only made me want to get in the ring and keep going. I’m not resting on my laurels or throwing the world’s longest victory party. It’s time to go back to work. Next on the docket is Mr. Raab.

Jordan sits the title on the table in front of her and leans down over the top of it.

I hope you’re ready for this match, Konrad. I don’t know what you’ve heard about me, but I don’t mess around. Roll that beautiful footage of what I’ve been doing since the start of 2020 and you’ll see exactly why I was voted the Star of Tomorrow and turned that into stardom just three months later. I’m the type of fighter who knows how to work the angles. I know how to take advantage of the moments when you are most rattled or confused. I know how to strike in an instant and finish a match once and for all. I hope you know this isn’t just lip service because if you don’t take it seriously this week, well, it won’t turn out too well for you my friend. Just ask Marie. She told me I wasn’t ready. She tried to make me out to be just some entitled millennial piggybacking off the successes of my friends’ pasts. But I did this all on my own. And that’s why she didn’t fulfill her dream of being supreme and I fulfilled my dream of becoming a champion.

Jordan leans down just a little bit closer to the camera and grins.

Nothing but respect for you, Konrad. You do your thing as well as anyone else does at your age. Plenty have walked away, but you’re still here fighting and trying to beat the youth that is dominating the future of this industry. The only thing I can promise you from this match is that I will have a lot of fun and that it will end with my hand raised. Oh, old man, you can bank on that. Because Jordan Majors is money. And she is your Adrenaline Champion.

Jordan winks at the camera and picks up the title as she ends the recording.

One thought on “Breakdown 3/31/2020”

Leave a comment