Cold Blooded 2020

March 1996 – Nebraska
Christina Majors

For as long as I can remember, my dream was to be a mother. But for my husband Thomas and I, it just wasn’t meant to be. We had tried, unsuccessfully, for five years. Doctors believed there might be something wrong with me. Thomas has knocked up a girl in his early high school days, but they didn’t go through with it. He met me and we married at 18. All I wanted to do was raise a kid of our own. Knowing our struggles, a second cousin of mine who was closer to my mom had made an offer. They were having an oops baby. Their son was already 20 years old and they weren’t interested in spending another 18 years raising another child. So the baby was born in February. She was beautiful. My dreams came true. They said they would probably name her Jordan if they’d kept her. So I made that her middle name. And Thomas and I brought home Kylie Jordan Majors near the end of February. One month in, we were living the dream as far as I was concerned. In the middle of the night I heard distant crying and shot awake. I heard Thomas roll over and sigh.

Thomas: I’ll get the bottle.

I hurried to my feet and went into the room where Kylie was crying quietly. She was hungry or needed changed or held. I was still adjusting to this life as a mom. I held her and rocked her, rubbing her back. Thomas walked in with a bottle and handed it to me. I looked at him annoyed.

Christina: This isn’t even warm…

Thomas: So?

Christina: She needs warm milk. Warm it up.

Thomas: Just give it to her that way.

I roll my eyes at him and take the bottle and place it at her lips. She sucks on the bottle but seems uninterested. I take it and shove it back toward him.

Christina: I told you… she needs it warm.

Thomas: God damn it, Chris. If it isn’t enough that I have to wake up at all hours of the night to help you with this damn kid, you have to give me shit about the way I do it, too?

I think I nearly glared knives through the man’s chest when he came at me with that attitude. I know he saw my scowl and disapproval, but he seemed to double down.

Thomas: I’m going to bed. You warm this shit up and take care of this baby. This is your deal!

Thomas left and I sat down in a nearby chair and rocked Kylie as I started to cry. This baby meant everything to me. But to him it meant nothing at all. Sure, I knew a child could add stress, but I saw Thomas and I as a team. He was my rock. We got through everything together. I took some time rocking Kylie. Eventually she did take the cold formula. I got her to sleep and put her back in the crib and walked back to the bedroom. Thomas was laying on his side, turned away from me. I laid down next to him and heard him sigh. Either he was still awake or my presence had woken him. Annoyed him at that.

Christina: I wish you wouldn’t act that way around the baby.

Thomas: So what? She doesn’t know the difference.

Thomas’ attitude drove me crazy.

Christina: Why are you like this. We tried so long for this and we finally got it and you’re just such an asshole about everything to do with the baby.

Thomas turns to his back and then turns his head toward me.

Thomas: This is what you wanted. I never wanted this.

Christina: That’s not what you said. You never said that.

Thomas: I wanted our child. Our kid. That thing in there… that ain’t our kid.

Christina: She’s every bit as much our child as one that would come from me.

Thomas: Yeah, well… that’s not how I see it.

Christina: Damnit, Thomas. Why are you like this now?

Thomas scoffed and turned away from me before swinging himself out of bed and storming out of the room. I laid there for a moment, softly crying again. When Thomas didn’t return after 10 minutes, I wiped my eyes and walked out towards the area of the house that was suddenly illuminated. I saw Thomas standing outside and walked out in my pajamas to find him standing there in his underwear, smoking a cigarette and drinking straight from a bottle of whiskey.

Christina: What are you doing?

Thomas: I’m doing whatever the fuck I want to do. Like I was allowed to do before you agreed to take someone else’s kid and raise them as your own. I’m not sure you’ve ever stopped to think about me through all of this. You’ve never thought about what’s best for me. Just about what’s best for you. I might as well let you do this shit all on your own.

Christina: Don’t say that. Don’t you dare say that!

Thomas laughs and takes another drag of his cigarette.

Thomas: What are you going to do about it? Just bitch and whine some more? I’ve put up with so much shit from you and that baby in the last week. I’m just over it.

I tried to calm down and be rational with him.

Christina: Listen… I know this is difficult. It’s an adjustment for all of us. It’s going to cause some stress. The books say…

Thomas: Fuck your books. Seriously. Fuck all of that noise. And you, too.

Christina: Stop!

Thomas: You’ve ruined us with this. We’ll never recover from it.

Christina: What are you saying?

Thomas: I’m saying that I don’t love you anymore. I knew it before this kid, but this just made it a done deal for me. You’ve been so obsessed with this stupid kid thing.

He laughs again and takes another drink as I hear Kylie crying in the distance through the screen door. He gestures with a nod.

Thomas: You best run along and take care of that kid. That’s all you’re gonna have left.

I hurried inside in tears and took care of Kylie and got the situation calmed down. When I returned to the back patio he was gone. I sat down and took a drag from the cigarette resting in the ashtray and then took a swig from the bottle he left behind. I finished off the bottle that night, sitting out in the cold and crying for a while before eventually sadness turned to anger. I started a fire in the backyard and burned some of his things that early morning. It was still smoldering when the sun came up. Kylie and I went to the store a few days later and returned to find most of his stuff gone. And while I should have been pissed at him, part of me hated that this baby came into our lives and changed everything. I found myself just staring at Kylie when it was quiet. I loved her, but I loathed her. Somehow, I had to raise a child on my own now. And just the decision to be a mom had taken everything from me.

March 15, 2020 – After Retribution – Memphis
Jordan Majors

I walked into the hotel bar late after the show, wearing yoga pants and a Breemerica t-shirt. Jake had texted me to come down here. I spotted him talking to the guys I affectionately referred to as the coffee bros. He spotted me from the corner of his eye and turned around and popped the cork on a bottle of champagne. I dropped to the floor as the cork barely flew over my head and I turned back to see the champagne spilling on the floor as a hotel worker came running over with a towel and pulled the bottle from Jake. I couldn’t help but laugh as he reached for a glass and the hotel worker poured one for me.

Jake: Come on. Come get a drink. Let’s celebrate my sister’s very first championship win in SCW.

David gave me a nod and Jason gave me a wink underneath the bandage on his forehead. Boy, that man knew more than I’d really like. Jake handed me the glass and told everyone to raise them. I raised my glass and then looked around. Jake started laughing.

Jake: What are you doing?

Jordan: You said to raise a glass.

Jake: I just wanted to see if you would do it. Now you are humbled by humiliation.

I rolled my eyes and put the glass to my lip and tilted my head back and basically slammed that whole glass. Drank every last drop in just seconds. Jake gave me a surprised look.

Jake: That’s not how champions drink. You’re drinking like you lost, sis.

I watch as he turns and grabs a glass of a dark liquid off the table nearby. I assume he’s drinking bourbon or something similar. I sit down at the nearby table and grab the bottle of champagne and drink straight from it. That makes Jake laugh a little bit as he sits down with me and sips his drink.

Jake: So… now things are going to get really, real. People are going to be gunning for you. I bet they’ll look at your past resume and think to themselves that they have a good shot at being a champion if they fight you.

Jordan: You think I don’t know that?

Jake: Well, tell me, how many championships have you won in your wrestling career?

I look away and take another swig from the bottle.

Jake: That’s what I thought.

Jordan: I’m not sure it’s really necessary for you to preach to me about defending my title. I think I can figure it out. Just because I haven’t done it before doesn’t mean I can’t do it now.

Jake nods along, but something about the way he looks at me makes it seem like he thinks I’m full of shit. He smirks when I finish talking.

Jordan: What are you smiling about?

Jake: Nothing. It’s just… it’s funny.

Jordan: What?

Jake: Well when I saved you from sure doom from Ravyn and her buddies everyone thought you were helpless and needed someone to lean on. I’m not so sure that’s the truth anymore. Maybe you don’t even know it anymore.

Jordan: Huh?

Jake laughs again and takes another sip before putting the glass down.

Jake: I’m not going to do it this time. I’m not going to point at the shirt and get us into a big fight over allegiances and shit. I’m not going to do it. But…

Jake points at my shirt. I look down forgetting what I was even wearing. He always acts like I’m some fangirl.

Jordan: So sue me. I threw a shirt on to come have this drink with you. I could have worn a sports bra.

Jake: Well, half of the time when I see you that’s what you’re wearing. I’m not trying to make accusations, I’m just paying attention to what I see happening. That’s all. You got to do you. Just make sure it doesn’t end with a knife sticking out of my back. Please?

Jake laughs at his own joke and then turns to look around the bar as he takes another sip.

Jake: You see all these people in here? These are the common folk. They don’t have any real big issues. They aren’t spending all their time claiming that the system is out to get them or complaining that things are fixed when it doesn’t go the way they want to. Like Bree there on your shirt. She’ll probably be upset that James took her out tonight. She’ll probably find a way to go after his title now. Sienna? Who knows what she’ll do next. She’ll find some way to channel her anger. I’d hate to be the one she goes after.

Jordan: Who cares what she does, honestly.

Jake: Well now there’s an interesting development. Just a month ago I swore you were sucking from her tit on a weekly basis.

Jordan: seriously, fuck off with that nonsense.

Jake: Just saying. You know, the guru would say…

Jordan: The guru is an idiot. No offense, Jake, but that stuff just isn’t me. I can’t operate like you do. I have to do things differently. It doesn’t mean I don’t have love for my brother, but it’s just the way things have to be.

Jake nods to me and then picks up his glass for another sip.

Jake: We don’t have to turn this into some sibling quarrel or anything, I just wanted to tell you firsthand that I’m proud of you. That Adrenaline Championship… it means a lot to me. A lot. Means a lot to a lot of other people, too.

Jordan: I know…

Jake: Just… take this as seriously as you possibly can. Do right by that title and show the world what I’ve known all along. You’re a badass and you are going to be a worthy champion. And just prepare yourself for that target that will be on your back. People will stop at absolutely nothing to take everything from you in this business. Everything.

Jake nods to himself and finishes off his glass as he stands and places a hand on my shoulder, gives me a light squeeze and walks away. I take another drink from the champagne bottle and watch him before looking around the bar. I see Asher Hayes at the bar with a beer in his hand. He looks over at me and smiles, giving me an acknowledging nod. I smile back and look away. I could feel that target squarely on my back. And I knew anyone could be the one coming for my title.

April 1, 2020 – After Breakdown – Las Vegas
Jordan Majors

Breakdown was so hectic. What should have been a fun show and equally fun night in Las Vegas had started with Sienna coming at my throat. She was angry with me for coming to the ring during her main event match at Retribution. She was coming close to threatening me. But she backed off. It made me think back to Jake’s words at the time. But before the night was over, we all knew the answer of Sienna’s target for unleashing her anger. It was Jake. The attack itself caused a small rift between us during the show, but I waited until after the show was over, when the cameras were off, to figure out what we should do next. I waited outside the locker room for him. When he came out, he stopped and looked at me for a moment and then turned and started walking away.

Jordan: Jake?

He kept going and I jogged to catch up with him and walked beside him.

Jordan: Jake!?

Jake: What?

Jordan: I’m trying to talk to you about what happened.

Jake turns into a hallway and I follow and he stops and then shows his frustration.

Jake: What the hell do you want to say? Huh? You want to tell me I was right all along when I warned you about them? Is that what you want to tell me? Because any other alternative of you trying to bend this where she looks good isn’t something I’m going to stick around to listen to. We’re family, Jordan. We’re supposed to look out for each other. Not watch each other burn at the hands of so called friends.

Jordan: Fuck Sienna, seriously. Fuck everything about her. I don’t stand for what she did to you. She did that and her and her little pack fled the show. They’re probably out there boarding their private jets for their next location to be just as insufferable as ever before. But I’m right here, checking on my big brother after the show to see if he’s ok.

Jake: Yeah, after the fact. You just going to let her stab me half to death next time before you decide to show up and help? Bree has a little fucking bump on the head and you and your girlfriend come running down to check on her. Give me a break. You’d watch her slaughter me before you help. I thought you were better than that.

Jake starts to walk away from me and I reach out and grab him by the arm to stop him. He turns back and glares at me.

Jake: Let me go.

Jordan: No.

Jake: Why not?

Jordan: Because I care about what you think. I’m sorry I didn’t come out to help you. I didn’t know it was happening until it was almost over. I’d had a match earlier, too. I’m sorry.

Jake: You know, I remember how upset you were that they never helped you when Infamous was kicking your ass week after week. When they tried to end your career, none of them came to help you. It was me that went out of my way. Now they’re attacking me and you couldn’t even come out to tell them to stop or anything. It just kills me to see how you’ve fallen in line with their ideals.

I hang my head and let his arm go as I fall back against the wall.

Jordan: I don’t know what to do. I don’t know how to fix this.

Jake: Yes you do. You know exactly what it’s going to take to bring this to an end. You need to choose if you’re going to let them continue to make your decisions for you or if you’re going to take control of your own shit. You know that’s what has to happen. You say fuck Sienna now, but when it comes down to it, will you say that once and for all or will you just fall in line like Bree tells you to.

I come off the wall and shove Jake and he comes back and stands toe to toe with me.

Jake: Is that your choice? Are you making it right now? Is it Bree or nothing? Just be honest with me right now.

Jordan: You’re as bad as they are. Putting this pressure on me to choose you or them. It’s all bullshit.

Jake: Well I’m tired of getting my ass handed to me while you’re skating along guilt free, winning title and paving the path they make for you. Sure I was happy you won that title, but damn Jordan, do you even pay attention to what is happening around you? The manipulation has never ended. Sienna is weighing your achievements as if they are solely to impress her. And now that you’ve won something and stepped foot on her turf, she is blaming you. Sure, Bree can stand up for you now, but what happens when Sienna asks her to choose?

Jordan: Stop, Jake.

Jake: What happens if Sienna says her or me?

Jordan: Stop it!

Jake: She’ll choose Sienna everytime, and you know it.

Jake takes a step away from me and goes to leave, but he stops and looks back at me.

Jake: The end of your little thing with those two, it’s already here. It ended the moment Sienna disagreed with what you did at Retribution. The longer you wait to decide what to do next, the more other people will suffer. I can take care of myself, but it’s just a matter of time before she decides to come after you or someone else you care about. Think about that.

Jordan: Jake. I’m sorry.

Jake: You can be sorry all you want. But if you drag this out, just know when they come for you there might not be anyone left to save you. You might be all on your own.

Jake turns away and leaves me there in the hallway to slump back against the wall again. I sighed and looked down as the sound of his footsteps permanently drifted away. Jake was right. The final decision in this path would be coming. It would be mine to make and no matter what I decided it would end in someone getting hurt.

March 2004 – Nebraska
Christina Majors

I sat in the midst of cigarette smoke and music playing softly in the background as I slowly drank whiskey. To my left were three white lines separated out on the table. It was midday on a Saturday afternoon, and the eight-year anniversary of when my ex-husband decided to walk away from me once and for all. He left with a baby, and now I find myself lonely with an 8-year-old, ungrateful daughter that leeches away my happiness on a day to day basis. All because I know the reason I’m lonely now is her. The man I’d spent that past two nights with had only just left the house when the sleepy girl walked out of her room in pajamas. It was spring break for her, unfortunately leaving her home during the day and forcing me to watch after.

Kylie: Mommy? Where is Jeff?

I laugh at her under my breath and put the cigarette in the ashtray.

Christina: Oh baby, Jeff isn’t around anymore. But Simon was. And you chased him off. Just like you do every man who dares to walk into our house.

I watch her form a confused look on her face like a dumb little kid and then she walks away and heads to the kitchen and starts searching for her food. I stand and lean over the table, doing one of the lines of white powder and then turning to see her continue looking around for breakfast. Jeff had brought some stability to this house. He wanted to be with me and make this a family again. I pushed him away.

Kylie: Mommy, I can’t find my cereal.

Christina: You don’t have any cereal. Me and my friend ate it last night. We didn’t want to leave any cereal for you. Because you don’t deserve any cereal.

Kylie: But… what do I eat?

Christina: You think I care if you eat?

I let out a soft laugh and walk toward her as she hangs her head and pouts. She turns to walk away and I grin and shove her. She falls to the floor and then scrambles back to her feet with tears streaming down her cheeks.

Christina: Oh, are you going to cry about it! You big baby.

Kylie screams and charges at me, throwing a few punches at my legs and midsection before I shove her back to the ground. I turn to walk back to the table and she gets back up and comes at me again. I can’t help but laugh as she slams into me and starts kicking and punching at me.

Christina: Go ahead you little shit. Keeping swinging at me and fighting. It will get you absolutely nowhere. You ruined my life. I hate you.

She stops fighting for a moment and walks away, standing with her back turned. I can tell she’s seething in anger with me.

Christina: Go ahead and walk away. Maybe you can find some crumbs on the floor in your room.

Kylie charges back at me and drives her shoulder into my leg and I stumble to the ground. The pain in my knee is agonizing as I reach for the table in front of me. I grab the mostly empty bottle of whiskey and swing it toward the girl. The bottle doesn’t break like it does in the movies and instead I watch as a child slumps to the ground and blood slowly comes from a wound on the right side of her head.

Christina: Oh… fuck.

I feel panic washing over me as I turn to the table and grab a bag and quickly start to clear the cocaine off and into the bag. I pick up a few more things as I look over Kylie’s motionless body on the ground and I drop to my knees and put fingers on her neck to feel for a pulse. Her heart is still beating suddenly, but I’m not sure the wound I put on her head is going to stop bleeding without some medical assistance. I scoop her up, grab a towel for her head and put her in the car and start driving for the hospital. She slowly opens her eyes as we head for the medical center and reaches for the wound on her head. As soon as she sees the blood, she starts to freak out and cry.

Christina: You’re ok, baby. Momma’s taking you to the hospital. You’re going to be ok.

Kylie: Why did you do that, mommy? Why did you hit me?

Christina: Mommy didn’t. You fell down baby. You fell and hit your head when I swang. I’m sorry. I’m so, so sorry. Please don’t tell them we were fighting. They will take you away and force you to live with people who will hurt you.

We reached the hospital after a short drive. The ER doctors took care of Kylie and a hospital official made me leave the room when they came to speak with Kylie. I knew what this was. As I stood in the waiting area I paced back and forth. They were going to take this girl away from me. I was going to jail for this. Prison after they searched our run down home and find all the drugs and alcohol there. I’d been a bad mother, and this was going to be the moment it caught up with me. A nurse came out and waved me back with a smile and I walked back into the ER and looked down at my daughter with the stitches on the right side of her head.

Doctor: It’s going to leave a bit of a scar there, but her hair will hide most of it.

Christina: Uh, thank you doctor.

Doctor: And Kylie, you be careful about running around your house. Save that running for outside after these stitches and that cut heal up.

The doctor looks at me and smiles and leaves the room and I look down at Kylie as she looks back at me. Somehow, I’d gotten away with it. But I couldn’t keep taking these chances.

Christina: I’m so sorry, baby girl. I’m going to clean this all up. I’m going to get help.

Kylie reaches over and her small hand grasps mine and squeezes.

Kylie: It’s ok, I still love you mommy.

I knew I needed to change that very moment. When we went home I got on the Internet and started searching for local rehabilitation centers or weekly meetings that I could attend. After a long search and after putting Kylie to bed, I sat down at the computer and looked some more. But then that bottle of Jim Beam caught my eye. A half hour later I was having my second glass of whiskey and searching Craigslist for a casual encounter. Tomorrow I could check into getting help, but tonight the pull of these demons were too hard. The day had been tough, and I was too lonely to spend the night alone. Kylie would understand. She always does.

April 8, 2020 – After Breakdown – Mexico
Jordan Majors

I spent some time trying to get ahold of Bree after Breakdown. She had left with Sienna so I thought my opportunity to reach her was done for. Just before midnight, after Jaina had fallen asleep, I walked down to her hotel room and knocked on the door.

Jordan: Bree? Are you here?

I leaned against the wall next to her door and waited, but there was no answer.

Jordan: If you are in there, I’d really like to talk to you.

A moment later, the door opened slowly and Bree stood in the hallway looking at me. She had one brow raised and said nothing as she turned and left me to walk in behind her. I did so, hearing a pin drop before the door closed behind me.

Bree: What did you want to talk about, babe?

I watched as she sat down in a chair, crossed one leg over the other and stared at me. I sat down on the edge of the bed and looked back, clearing my throat.

Jordan: I’m really just trying to understand what’s going on with this whole Jake and Sienna thing. It feels like a week ago you were supporting me and then now… maybe you’re supporting her. I don’t know.

Bree: You don’t know… but you feel like I’m picking sides. Is that what you’re saying?

Jordan: I just think this whole thing is ridiculous. I came to check on you at Retribution. I guess I was supposed to just let you suffer alone after what James Evans did to you. It sort of feels like Sienna is blaming me for losing that.

Bree: You’d have to take that up with Sienna.

Jordan: Well, I can’t. Can I?

Bree tilts her head slightly.

Bree: What does that mean?

Jordan: For months and months now, you’ve taken every opportunity you could to remind me that Jake is somehow worth less than all of you. You’ve been planting that in my head. Sienna, meanwhile, she let me in around all of you as some sort of a favor to you or something. She’s never really cared for me much. For whatever reason.

Bree: Ok, first off, I’ve been telling you things about Jake that you already know to be true. Second, Don’t act like I’m trying to manipulate you. And third, stop saying Sienna doesn’t like you. Everything Sienna is doing is for you. She doesn’t like Jake and she thinks he holds you back. She just wants you to succeed, just like I do.

I shake my head and roll my eyes.

Bree: Something you want to say to me?

Jordan: You have been manipulating me. You have. And it started long ago. As soon as you started giving me your thoughts on Abigail.

Bree rolls her eyes at me and leans on her hand.

Bree: Oh, here we go. Are you kidding me? Really? That girl was terrible to you. She treated you like you meant nothing to her. She was focused on someone else. The only time she started thinking about you was when she was pissed you beat her at her own game. You know why you did that? It was because of me. You followed my advice and it worked. I gave you advice about how to handle things with your brother. I’m just offering you the help you clearly need.

Jordan: You’re not offering me advice. You’re telling me what to do.

Bree: I’m not. At all.

Jordan: That’s how it feels.

Bree: Well I’m sorry you feel that way. I’ve done nothing but try to help you and apparently you think I was scheming to, what, make you a better wrestler.

I sigh and shake my head. A soft laugh escapes my lips.

Bree: What’s funny?

Jordan: Nothing is funny. It’s just me laughing about you practically taking credit for everything I’ve done. Next thing you’ll take credit for me and Jaina ending up together.

Bree looks at me and just smiles as she tilts her head the other way.

Jordan: I’m going to choose not to read into that.

Bree: You take it however you want, babe. Now, are we going to keep going on about this?

Jordan: I’m not done.

Bree seems to lose her patience and stands up, crossing her arms as she looks at me.

Bree: Well then. Get on with it.

Jordan: What are you expecting of me?

Bree: What do you mean? I don’t expect anything of you. Just be you and take care of my niece.

Jordan: But that’s not it is it?

Bree seems annoyed by the way I’m talking to her based on the face she made and the gesture that followed.

Jordan: There’s so much pressure being put on me. By you, by Sienna, even by Jake. It’s driving me fucking crazy. It really is.

Bree: Jordan…

Jordan: No, Bree! You’re going to let me finish.

Bree looks at me in a little bit of shock, tilting her head yet again.

Jordan: How do you think all of this ends? Do you just know in your heart that I will cast away Jake and we’ll all be one big happy unit? You with your best friend at your side and me standing at your feet and following Sienna’s orders like the good soldier she probably wants me to be? I don’t know what’s going to happen. Jake is my brother, and even if you don’t like him, he’s still my brother. You, of all people, know exactly how important brothers are.

Bree: Don’t you dare throw that at me.

Jordan: Bree I love you to death. I love you like a sister. For me you are a mentor, a best friend… you mean so much to me. But I will not let anyone dictate the decisions I make in my life. I refuse to let anyone try to influence the decisions I make for their own gain.

Bree: Is this how you really feel about me? Do you honestly think everything we’ve done together has been about me trying to gain something by using you? How little you must think of me as a friend.

I sigh and stand up off the bed, crossing my arms as well as I look down.

Jordan: You don’t get it.

Bree: What don’t I get? You come in here accusing me of all sorts of things.

Jordan: You don’t understand the pressure on me to try and be what you seem to want me to be. It’s put a huge strain on me. It has even caused issues for me and Jaina.

Bree: Again, Jordan, I’m not putting any pressure on you. Do what you want to do. You honestly think I’m trying to make you do what I want?

Jordan: Yes. I do. I think you’re trying to pull my strings and I think you want me to cast away my brother.

Bree: Because he’s using you. He takes you all over and puts you through these ridiculous tests and trials and does it make you any better? No, it just gets him attention. You are capable of so much more without him by your side. I’m not saying turn your back on him completely. Like you said… I know how important brothers are. All I’m saying, all I have been saying, is that he’s not good for you professionally.

I look up at her and stare into your eyes.

Jordan: Just makes you wonder, doesn’t it?

Bree: What?

Jordan: How much am I capable of without you and Sienna?

Bree: Jordan… you don’t mean that.

Jordan: Maybe I do…

Bree starts to walk toward me and I put up a hand.

Jordan: Let me make this decision on my own.

I walk out of the room and head back down the hallway to my own room. I insert the key card and walk in and sit on the end of the bed, careful to not wake up Jaina. The conversation with Bree? It felt pointless. What was really accomplished by that? I guess now it’s all out there in the open. She knows that I feel like she’s trying to make the decision for me. The one thing for sure was this never ending question of whose side she’s on needs to come to an end.

April 12, 2020 – Louisiana
Jordan Majors

I sat in Jaina’s room at Bree’s house alone. It was where I spent a lot of free time these days. If I wasn’t working out or traveling, I was keeping quiet. To myself. Staying reflective. I tried to read a book. I heard that works. But my mind just stirred too much. I pulled out my phone and searched through the contacts on this day. My thumb hovered over the one labeled ‘Peyton Rice’ and then punched it. I started to draft a text to her about some things that were on my mind. Her promo on me in Mexico had got things buzzing inside my head. She was somewhat right that my life was mired by all kinds of nonsense. But I knew she knew the same thing would be true from both of us: our fight would be nothing short of a war between two people who wanted to win more than anything. As I hit send, Jaina walked into the room and I scrambled to hide my phone like I was doing something wrong. Then I sighed and looked away.

Jaina: Why did you just react like I walked in on you watching porn? Or maybe…

Jaina walks toward me and sits on the edge of the bed.

Jaina: You were talking to someone and you thought it would piss me off…

I raise a brow at her like I have no idea what she’s talking about. She stares back like she can see inside my head and she’s searching some database for the truth. I tilt my head as if that could stop her or throw her off.

Jaina: Does this have something to do with you disappearing and no one knowing where you’re at?

Jordan: Wait… what?

Jaina sighs like she expected me to spill some deep dark secret. She thought she’d caught me.

Jaina: Everytime you say you’re going to the gym, I know you’re going somewhere else.

Oh. That.

Jaina: I was talking to dad and asked if you were there and he said he hadn’t seen you in a few weeks. He seemed shocked that I thought you were there. So, what’s going on. Just… just be honest with me. I can take it.

It was a little heartbreaking to hear her ask the way she was. This was all on me. The stuff going on with Abigail, it had created insecurity between us. We were good, but we weren’t at the same time. And now she could only fear the worst I assume. Like I was cheating on her with someone I’d met around town or something. But I was just cheating on CrescentCity Fitness.

Jordan: I’ve been working out at this other place. I had something…

Jaina: Another place? Why another place?

Jordan: Well that’s what I was trying to tell…

Jaina: Is my dad’s gym not good enough for you? Is Aunt Bree’s not good enough for you? Why are you cutting us out?

Jordan: Woah. Woah! Stop!

I stand up and step toward Jaina, falling to my knees and grabbing both of her hands as I looked up to her.

Jordan: Last time I went to CrescentCity, when I walked outside I saw my mom standing around nearby. I drove by a day or so later and I saw her standing there again. She’s camping out. She’s waiting for me.

Jaina: For what reason?

Jordan: She wants to confront me probably. For kicking her out of my house. For putting her on the street. Whatever you think you went through with Amy, I’m sure it was terrible, but me and Christina. Our relationship is purely toxic. She abused me for years and I allowed it to happen because she made me think if I wasn’t living with her that things would be even worse. I smartened up as I got older of course, but that pattern of abuse…

I shook my head and looked down between us.

Jordan: It’s so psychological. She manipulated me. People have been manipulating me my entire life and it has to stop. But right now, I don’t need to confront that. I need to distance myself from her. Because I need to solve all of my other issues before I solve the ones that me and her have. Because I’m not sure those ever will get solved.

Jaina: You have to stop doing this.

I was shocked by her response and let go over her hands, standing and then looking down at her.

Jordan: What?

Jaina: You always do this. You shut people out and try to take on the world of problems all alone. You shut me out. We can’t operate like this.

Jordan: I can’t let you in on all of my problems.

Jaina: You have to.

Jordan: How can I when…

Jaina: What!?

I swallow hard and look off to the side. I can’t even look at her, but I’m just going to say it.

Jordan: How can I let you in when one of my issues is Bree?

Jaina doesn’t even reply to that. I turn to watch her face go from confused to blank to something that resembles irritation.

Jaina: What about Aunt Bree?

Jordan: I can no longer be a part of her blind following of Sienna Swann. I can’t. They are targeting my brother. And Bree just falls into line.

Jaina: Take it up with Sienna. Aunt Bree doesn’t control Sienna.

Jordan: No, she doesn’t. Sienna controls all of us. Or at least she tries to.

Jaina: Jordan, come on. This sounds a little far fetched.

Jordan: So… you don’t even see it. You don’t even see how Sienna wanted to target me after Retribution.

Jaina: I admit it was a little tense, but Aunt Bree spoke up for you and Sienna cooled down.

Jordan: Cooled down? She went after Jake. It’s just a message to me. It’s head games.

Jaina continues to look at me like I’m just full of hot air. Like I’m just spouting some kind of unrealistic conspiracy theories.

Jordan: I let you in, but you aren’t even accepting what I’m saying. And that’s why I didn’t want to let you in on it in the first place. I didn’t want confirmation from my fiance that I’m alone in this. That false hope that maybe someone would be on my side.

Jaina: I am on your side. I am. It just seems like you are coming at my aunt for a reason that I’m not sure is completely valid. It sounds like you are piecing together parts of a puzzle that look like they might fit because you are trying to reach a conclusion before things just naturally come to an end.

Jordan: What the hell does that mean? What is a natural end to this?

Jaina: I don’t know… Sienna beats your brother and he just stays to himself and you and Aunt Bree hold three of the titles. Would that be so bad?

I laugh softly and put my hands on my hips, looking away from Jaina.

Jordan: Sounds like a dream world.

Jaina: I don’t think so. I think it sounds nice.

Jordan: It sounds like the start of Sienna’s next wet dream. And it probably ends with her beating the shit out of me and taking the Adrenaline title. If I can even get past Peyton that is.

Jaina: Oh, gods… would you please stop it with this. You do sound crazy talking like that. Sienna respects you. You two just aren’t friends. She doesn’t know you.

Jordan: If she respected me, she wouldn’t have ambushed my brother for no reason. It’s just a fact. You can defend her all you want. You can defend Bree. I won’t stop you. You asked me to let you in and I did. The truth is no one is looking out for my best interests except for me. I have to put my interests above theirs. I love Bree. But the next time you come running backstage asking me to save her, I’m not sure I’ll be able to rush out and help without putting some more thought into it.

Jaina rolls her eyes and stands up as I go to walk past her. She reaches out and grabs my wrist to turn me back to her.

Jaina: Please. Don’t go down this path. You aren’t thinking rationally.

I laugh softly and look her in the eyes.

Jordan: Honestly, I think this is the first time I’ve been thinking rationally in a long time.

Jaina slowly releases her grip as I walk past her and she watches me make my way to the door.

Jordan: Oh hey, you should know I’ve been thinking. I think I need to move to Chicago for awhile. I guess I need to know if my fiance will be coming with me.

I nod and exit the doorway, leaving Jaina to think about what I’d said. I wasn’t sure who was right. Maybe I was crazy. Or maybe she was defending the honor of her aunt. No matter what the answer to that question is, I have to take some kind of action. The only thing I know how to do, is follow my heart.

April 12, 2020 – Louisiana
Christina Majors

I’ve been coming here for days now. Each morning I leave the shelter I’ve been staying at and venture out across a short stretch of the city to this area. Right where I can see the locally-renowned fitness center where she works out often. My daughter. But it has been days since I’ve seen her come this way. Since that day we locked eyes from a distance away and she fled. I thought I saw her again a day or so later. But not since. Maybe for a week now. I just have so much I want to say to her. I hate her for taking my home away from me. Well, her home. But I also understand. We have had issues for years. These unresolved issues have driven a deep wedge between us.

As time passes throughout the day, I find things to keep my mind busy. I think about my husband and how he left when things get tough. I think about the men along the way who wanted to bring stability to my life and how I pushed them away in favor of drugs. I think about the deep resentment I developed for Kylie when she came out to me. Our relationship was so imperfect and it was all my fault.

Out of the corner of my eye I see someone arriving at the gym. It’s just the man that runs it. He’s attractive. Like my husband was. The man who was supposed to be Kylie’s father. Instead he left me a single mother who cared more about her liquor and drugs then she did what was happening with her daughter. They could have locked my ass up long ago and put Kylie somewhere she’d be taken care of. But maybe she wouldn’t be the fighter she is today. For all that I ruined in her childhood, I couldn’t help but see her as a fully capable adult now. She didn’t need me around. She was perfect, even in her little imperfections.

I found a spot to sit down and watched from a distance as I could see people working out at the fitness center. Suddenly a shadow beamed over me and blocked the sun from shining on the side of my face. I turn and narrow my eyes, putting a hand up to block out the light shining around the person in front of me and see a familiar figure standing in front of me.

Jordan: Hey mom…

Promo

A video opens on Jordan Majors sitting in front of a camera and looking straight ahead. She runs a hand through her hair and then forces a smile.

I’ve had a lot of time to think about when this moment would come. It’s funny, though. I always imagined I’d be on the other side of it. Last year at this time, I couldn’t find my feet from my ass as I was being beat all over every SCW ring I was dropped into. Along that way, just over a year ago, I faced someone who was on an absolute roll. She was pissed at me and I understand it today. I had just screwed her over. I came to the ring with an open checkbook. She came with a vengeance as she continued what was an incredible reign as a TV Champion. But now you flip the calendar a full year forward and everything is different. We’re different and our places are different. There’s not a single person out there who believed our fortunes would change this much.

Jordan laughs to herself and looks off to the side before continuing.

But that’s just the thing with me, right? Since this year started, I’ve been defying the odds. I went from being an afterthought at the end of the year invite to people legitimately asking themselves, did this girl figure this out overnight. And then it went on to that buy-in. That’s where Peyton and I crossed paths again. For the first time in our careers, not as enemies, but as teammates. Never had I been forced to team with someone I had so much contempt for. In order to advance, things had to be different. Peyton knows I offered the olive branch. We both put ourselves out there and I went a step further. But I won’t take her personal business and spill it here. I’ll just say that I admire her strength and determination. I love the person that she is today and how she has overcome so much to be that person.

Jordan grabs her hair and shifts it to the right side of her face. She leans back and crosses her arms.

It’s funny how similar we are in that, isn’t it Peyton? We come from such different backgrounds, but we’re both fighters. We’ve had to work for everything we’ve gotten. My path… maybe it was a little harder than yours. We can debate it. I got lucky. The right people saw me and here I am. But you were always meant to be the Golden Goose here. You walked in from Emerge as one of the best champs they’d ever had. You were the rookie of the year here and you knocked back practically every challenger that wanted that TV title. Don’t act modest. You took down some heavy hitters and you had big matches at the biggest shows. All eyes have always been on your beautiful, perfect face. That’s where our major differences lie. I’m as imperfect as they come. But here’s the thing.

Jordan reaches in front of her and brings the Adrenaline Championship into view.

I overcame all of that to become the Adrenaline Champion at Retribution. I beat one of those many people obsessed with being “Supreme” and one of the best damn fighters I’ve come to know. And I prevailed. You could try and say that was my one moment and now it’s time to hand the title off to you, a person who the world knows is the next big thing. But I’m not willing to go down that easy. You, of all people, know exactly how hard I had to fight just to get to this point. Do you honestly think just calling your shot like I’m some easy target is going to be enough to end this tide of momentum and take this away from me? Honestly? Because I think you’re in for a wake up call, pretty one.

Jordan brings the Adrenaline title back out of view and leans forward on the table against her arms.

Now I know what you’re thinking, Pey. Jordan is distracted. The whole world knows there’s some sort of a rift between her and her brother and her friends and it has been plastered all over the screens now for months. You say, it’s boiling over right now so she’s easy pickings. You think you can just go on and on to the world about how I’m too distracted to beat you in a fight and that will be that. Well believe me, Pey, that’s a nice try on your part, but the truth is I’m just fine. What you don’t realize is nothing has changed for me. Nothing is keeping me from performing the way I need to in that ring. Are any of these problems for me somehow new? No, you of all people know that. Yet in the time you’ve known that. I won the buy-in, with you on my team. I went to the finals of the Trios tournament, with you sitting backstage watching. And I…

Jordan holds the title up with one arm and leans back into her chair confidently.

Won this Adrenaline Championship and I didn’t see you anywhere near the competition.

She puts the title back down in front of her and leans back into her chair.

So maybe I’m carrying a lot more than the weight of this gold on my shoulders right now. How does it make me any different than half of the roster? I get it. My issues come across complicated. Maybe you think I should be more concerned with taking care of these issues before they get any worse. I can’t predict the future right now. I’m trying to figure this stuff out myself. It’s hard. Everyone has their own opinions and they’re telling me what they think I should do. Like I’m not capable of making the right decision on my own. The decision I make will be the right decision. Because it’s my decision, not your’s or anyone else’s. So you can put your fake concerns about me to rest. Because I’ve got this one.

Jordan adjusts in her chair, leaning forward and staring directly into the camera.

The truth is we all have our distractions. What separates the great from the weak are those who can truly rise above it and perform at their best. I’ve been doing just that for months now. The only thing I’m focused on at Cold Blooded is beating you. No, the buy-in doesn’t count for me. I want you on your back in that ring and I want my 1-2-3. I want my win over you. And that’s what makes this so interesting. As the champion I should feel like the hunted. I should feel like the prey trying to survive the predator that wants to end my very existence. But I’m sitting here as hungry as ever. I want that win over you and I want to remain SCW’s Adrenaline Champion. There’s nothing that I’ll let get in the way of that. Everyone else and their issues with each other, well they’ll just have to wait until I’m done beating you.

Jordan smirks and leans back into her chair.

I’ve been waiting for this rematch for a long time. Maybe no one expected so much to be on the line when we met up again. But who am I kidding, for me there’s always so much on the line when we face off. This time… it will be different. Don’t you get caught thinking too much about the past, babe. This time, Jordan Majors will be the one who walks out victorious. This time, you will be the one left licking your wounds. Winning this title might have been my moment, but my time isn’t yet. At Cold Blooded, Jordan Majors will be victorious in her first defense of the title, and there’s not a damn thing anyone can do about that. Don’t you worry about holding my championship at the next Breakdown. It’s staying right here in mama’s arms. You can take that to the bank, Pey Pey. Because as you know, Jordan Majors is money, baby.

Jordan blows a kiss to the camera and winks.

Leave a comment