Rise to Greatness 2020 Part 2

July 21, 2020 – Santa Monica

Monday was full of more excitement than any of us had bargained for. Jay’s allergic reaction led to me being his hero of sorts. Dave now knew that Kath and I were a couple. Somehow it all just seemed normal. I laid up all night in bed, Kath sleeping peacefully next to me, rehashing the entire events of the Uber ride from hell. Even my dreams featured me going on crazy ride after ride with that guy Vihaan until I woke myself up early Tuesday morning and sat up in bed. I told myself I needed to buy a goddamned car as soon as I could. I tossed and turned in bed, somehow not waking Kath up, as my mind shifted to the thought that I’d be leaving later today for Breakdown and staying on the road for Rise to Greatness before I moved my belongings to Toronto to begin filming the show. I looked over my shoulder at Kath. She somehow looked perfect even when she was sleeping.

I left the bed and snuck my way downstairs around seven and walked into the kitchen. I looked up directions on my phone and started cooking a simple breakfast. Just something with sausage and eggs, maybe some toast. How ridiculous that I needed to look up a recipe for scrambled eggs, right? Even reading it made me feel so dumb. It was just who I was. I fended for myself so much as a kid and even as a young adult. But cooking had eluded me. Everytime I stood at an oven it was a new experience. I knew how much it would mean to Kath if I made her breakfast today, especially considering how often I’d woken up with a full mind and been greeted to this same thing by her. I over toasted the bread slightly as I finished the eggs. I think the sausage might have been burning, too. I pulled each link on to a plate and out of the sizzling grease as a voice from behind me made me smile.

Kathryn: Well this is a surprise… I was planning on cooking for us.

I turned around and showed her my smile. She was wearing just a t-shirt and her underwear. Just one more piece of clothing than I’d left her in bed with. She stood there, smirk across her face, looking like an absolute goddess. It was no surprise I had so willingly submitted to her as quickly as I had. Her beauty alone was enough to draw in anyone. But it was the rest of her that made the package so perfect. I stood there and pushed my hip out as I tried to look like the cutest little diner waitress I could in just a t-shirt and yoga pants. My glasses had slid halfway down my nose from looking down over the food I had prepared. I held the plate out with one hand.

Jordan: Your breakfast is served, Miss Pearson.

She rolled her eyes and sat down at the table. I sat the plate down and went back to grab us plates and silverware.

Kathryn: Don’t ever call me that again, babe. And really, I wanted to cook you a nice breakfast before you take off today. I know you had a hard day yesterday and that you’re not going to be excited when you leave later this morning.

I sat a plate down in front of her with a fork and went to the other side of the table and sat down with my own plate and fork and looked back at her. I couldn’t help but smile.

Jordan: Do you not like it? I wanted to surprise you.

Kathryn: I’m surprised. Thank you. No coffee though?

Jordan: Shit!

I jumped up before touching the food and ran over to fetch us each a cup of coffee and fetched the sugar and cream to make them just right. Kath was laughing at me the whole time as she helped herself to some food.

Kathryn: Not bad, sweetie. First time cooking sausage and eggs, huh?

Jordan: Yeah… I had to look it up on my phone.

Kath snorted and I shot her a look to stop it. She grabbed the toast and took a bite and made a face back to me. I both hated that I’d burnt the toast but enjoyed that it made her stop laughing.

Jordan: I’ve got everything all packed up and ready to go.

Kathryn: Yeah? You sure?

Jordan: Well, I can’t pack you up and take you with me, so I suppose I’ve done as good as I can.

Kathryn: Kylie… it’s all going to be ok.

Jordan: It feels like we’ve been saying that for the last few weeks. I guess we’re about to find out, aren’t we?

Kath didn’t say anything. She bit her lip and then dug at the eggs with her fork. I could tell she was struggling to figure out what to say. My phone buzzed to break the silence. A reminder of when I was leaving later this morning from the airport. I looked down and cleared out the notification before Kath finally spoke.

Kathryn: Are you ready for the match this weekend? It’s gonna be a big one…

Jordan: Yeah, that’s probably an understatement. Not sure I’ve ever fought in a match this big without something being on the line. Object wise or whatever. It’s just pure pride. I guess… I guess I’ll know how ready I really am when I step between the ropes and see her across from me. I’ve been saying I was ready this whole time, but we all do that. Inside we’re all a little vulnerable, aren’t we?

Kathryn: No one wants to lose. No matter what’s on the line.

Jordan: I just keep thinking about how my life would be different if I had avoided this all together. You know? No Sienna at all.

Kath laughed at me and shook her head.

Kathryn: There you go thinking about the past again. Babe, everything you did in the past led you right here to this moment. So if you hadn’t done all those things… maybe you wouldn’t be here.

Jordan: That’s true.

Kathryn: You could have just stayed with Abigail last year and been in that mess right now. Bitch is crazy!

I laughed at her and wiped a few strands of hair behind my ear, adjusting my glasses and picking up my fork.

Kathryn: You could have just followed suit with whatever Sienna and Bree were trying to get you to do and outcast your brother.

I nodded to that one. Part of me felt like they had been successful in that in a way. I had essentially cut off most communication with Jake as I paved my own path forward without him. He was part of the collateral damage from that situation that included me losing my engagement to Jaina. So many rocks that were teetering on the edge of a cliff. When people were wondering what direction I would go, I let Sienna beat Jake down before I stepped in. I let all the rocks tumble off the cliff. The last one to go over the edge was my relationship with Jaina. Kath had just tried hard not to even mention her name. I had moved on because I forced myself to by lumping what happened to us in with Sienna. That one was just as much my fault though. I knew it to be true. I sighed as I stabbed my fork into eggs.

Kathryn: Get out of your own head. What’s going on?

Jordan: I was just thinking about… Jake, as weird as that sounds.

Kathryn: It’s not weird. He’s your brother.

I gave a half smile and tried to kick the thoughts out of my head. Immediately another thought slipped in. I found myself thinking about the days after Cold Blooded and how I found my way to Santa Monica. I took a sip from my coffee and cleared my throat.

Jordan: Just curious about something.

Kathryn: Ok?

Jordan: What did you think about me when I first showed up here? You invited me to stay here on a whim. Not many would do that. You knew very little about me. Why take a chance on someone like me?

Kath stared at me for a long moment before she put her fork down and leaned on her arms against the table.

Kathryn: You know… I just saw someone who I thought was lost. I knew that you were having a good year in SCW. I still watch to see what everyone is up to from my time there. Watching Regan, Dave, Jason, and others. I saw you as a bit of a mystery. But seeing what you’d just done to Sienna, I guess I thought I could trust you.

I smirked and then let a soft laugh slip out.

Jordan: You thought you could trust me because I had just betrayed someone?

Kathryn: Do you feel like you betrayed Sienna? Or do you feel like you were betraying yourself?

For me it was a bit of a deep question. One that could easily make someone really have to stop and think about what the answer was. The truth was the answer was simple. After having a conversation with someone the day before Cold Blooded, I knew that I was betraying myself because I wasn’t even looking out for myself.

Jordan: You make a good point. You know how I felt.

Kathryn: I’ll admit I had reservations. Any of my friends would tell you that I’m known for taking someone in for however long they need. I didn’t imagine you’d stay here long, but then some things started to happen obviously. My biggest reservation was when Asher Hayes showed up here.

I laughed and covered my face in embarrassment.

Kathryn: Imagine how I felt after he showed up and I warned you and then I came home to a mess, a missing child case, and you being drugged and waking up in a motel room somewhere else. After that… I was highly considering telling you to find somewhere else to stay. But I saw someone who was finally free and being allowed to make her own mistakes to discover herself. From that moment on I’ve watched you turn your entire life around just by being yourself. You’ve just… bloomed into this strong woman.

I couldn’t help but blush as I stirred my fork around in the scrambled eggs and looked at her over the top of my glasses.

Jordan: I didn’t know you felt so strongly about what I’ve done since I moved here.

Kathryn: Babe, it’s a total transformation. But no one forced you to do this or say that. The woman I’m looking at right now… it’s who you want to be. That’s what you need to be.

Jordan: I’m trying. All the stuff they wanted me to do and the person they sort of wanted me to be… it’s all ingrained in my head.

Kath leaned back into her chair and scooped up her fork.

Kathryn: Can I ask you the same question then? What did you think of me when you first showed up here in Santa Monica?

She dug her fork into the food on her plate and began eating as I smirked. I formed a reply that I knew would get a reaction from her.

Jordan: This woman is super hot, and I want my lips on that body.

Kath started to laugh and reached up to cover her face so she didn’t spit out all her food. I widened my smile to a grin and laughed back at her.

Jordan: I just didn’t understand how someone could be so nice after what I had just dealt with. It’s not that I had encountered anyone so pleasant, but… something was different about you. When I hurt my knee, Amy and Wyatt went out of their way to make sure I healed physically. But you were going out of your way to make sure I could heal mentally. It’s what I really needed at that moment. No one else was really reaching out. You helped me reset. And you expected nothing in return. It didn’t make any sense at the time, but it’s just how you are.

During my short speech, Kath had managed to get her food down and contain herself from any further laughter. She simply smiled and looked off to the side.

Kathryn: You know, there were no motives or anything. Everything that’s happened since… it just happened. I didn’t invite a total stranger to stay at my home because I thought she was hot!

I giggled and bit my lip. She had found a way to take my own joke from earlier and turn the tables back on me. I loved how clever she could be.

Kathryn: I’m really glad you decided to take my up on the offer of staying here though.

Jordan: Me, too.

Kathryn: Why don’t you head upstairs and get showered and ready for your trip. I’ll clean all of this up. Then I have something to talk to you about before you leave.

Jordan: Ok?

She could hear the mixture of confusion and fear in my voice and she shook her head and smiled.

Kathryn: It’s nothing for you to worry about. Just something I want to give you.

I nodded and stood up, grabbing her waist and planting a kiss on her lips with a smile as I walked away from the table. I watched her as I walked up the steps and let out a deep sigh when she went out of view. I stepped in the bathroom and turned on the shower, stripped off my clothes, and then stepped in under the hot water. I let the water pour over me and run down my body as the steam built up around me. As it did, I leaned back against the wall and thought about what the next couple months would be like without Kath having breakfast with me from just a few feet away. I pulled the showerhead toward me so the water ran down my front as I held my head down and let my thoughts take over. My mind went back to the moments following my decision to attack Sienna after her match at Cold Blooded. I remembered how I felt and emotions that were flowing from me. I was sure in that moment that I was going to be lost. I ran my head under the water and then sat down on the bench in the shower. Water ran through my hair as I held my head down. My mind went right back to that night again as I tried to remember what I was thinking after I ran backstage. It was such a big moment in my career in wrestling. It changed everything. It was no surprise I could remember it like it just happened yesterday.

April 19, 2020 – New Orleans

I walked through the curtain with an arm around my shoulders. My brother, holding on to me tightly. The crowd was still chanting my name. It was absolutely fucking incredible. The adrenaline of the moment was still pulsing through my skin. I’d just walked out in front of a packed arena and planted Sienna face first into the mat. Jake was saying something, but it was all a blur. Like I’d just been next to a mortar round smashing into the ground. My skin was vibrating. My ears were ringing. I was standing, yes, but I’m not exactly sure how I still managed to be on my feet. It was the most bold and daring choice I’d ever made. Jake swung me around, a hand on each shoulder, and looked me in the eyes. He kept saying something, but I wasn’t hearing him at all.

Jordan: What?

Jake: I said holy shit, sis. What the fuck was all that? As soon as you walked out from the back I thought I was toast. I just knew you were there to kick the shit out of me. Leave me high and dry. But that? I don’t know what to say.

Jordan: Yeah, yeah. Where’s Jaina?

Jake: Jaina? You serious? You think she’s going to want to talk to you?

Jordan: Where is she?

Jake: Jordan…

I frantically looked around. Jaina had been standing there watching the match with me when I stormed away from her and down to the ring. I thought she was going to follow me at first. It would have made my decision harder. I might have ended up just standing out there looking like an idiot. Being alone made the choice simple. I had to put that bitch down. Now that I’d done it, the adrenaline had me in a buzz. But it was already wearing off. The reality of what had just happened was coming to the surface. Jake’s voice had trailed off because I had stormed away from him and I was stomping down the halls. I reached the locker room with the names on the door of my most likely former friends. I could hear voices on the inside. Dom sounded like he was trying to calm Bree down. I reached up to knock, but heard my name. My hand went forward and rested on the door, just where Bree’s name was listed. A heavy sigh escaped me and I walked down the hall. I heard the door swing open when I was about 20 feet away. I turned and looked over my shoulder to see Jaina walking the opposite direction in a hurry. Her footsteps were heavy, yet quick. Somehow, it told me everything I needed to know. In that moment, I knew we were probably finished.

I walked to the women’s locker room and grabbed my things. I was still surprised that my choice to travel separately and use a different locker room hadn’t tipped my hand if I was being honest. I left the arena before the show was finished. I walked right out the back security entrance on foot and headed for the nearest bar I could find. It was a sort of combination sports bar and traditional pub. Not my scene at all, that’s for certain. The bartender didn’t even give me a second thought when I walked in hauling a small suitcase behind me. The one piece of my luggage that was missing was the Adrenaline Championship. That was Peyton’s now. I sat down at the bar and the blonde woman with tattoos came down to me. In the corner of my eye I caught the image of a wrestling ring and saw the show playing. Bree was just beginning her walk down to the ring.

Bartender: Traveling somewhere?

Jordan: Uhh… somewhere. Not sure yet.

Bartender: You don’t look well dressed for hitch hiking across the country, hunny. Can I get you something?

Jordan: Whiskey. Sour on the rocks.

The woman nodded and turned to get a bottle of whiskey from a lower shelf. She tossed some ice in the glass and started to pour the amber liquid in. I looked up at the television as my mentor and, probably, former friend made her way into the ring and I sighed loudly. The place was damn near empty. The bartender laughed and turned back to me after pouring.

Bartender: That noise that just came from you makes me think you’re about to tell me all of your problems.

Jordan: Maybe…

Bartender: You know it’s a little cliche to unburden yourself on a bartender, don’t you think?

Jordan: I just probably lost every single friend I have with one action… it’s either you or the hobo in the alleyway out back.

The bartender smiled as she added the sour mix to my drink and slid it my way.

Jordan: How much?

Bartender: Let me hear the story first, and then I’ll get back to you first.

Jordan: Ok…

The bartender grabbed a pair of shot glasses and a whiskey from a higher shelf and poured them both out. She placed in front of me and held hers up. Instinctively I grabbed mine and held it up. She clinked her shot glass to mine and smiled.

Bartender: To new friends then, maybe.

We both shot the liquid down our throats and placed the glasses back on the table. I felt the sting of the whiskey sliding down my throat and sighed contently at the feeling.

Bartender: So what the hell could you have done to blow up your entire social circle?

I gestured to the television and she looked up as James Evans made his way down the ring.

Bartender: You fucked that guy?

Jordan: God no. He’s married. And I’m not into men.

Bartender: I wouldn’t have pegged you as someone who was into women.

Jordan: Well, surprise, I guess?

Bartender: So that girl then?

I began laughing. I shook my head and looked at the drink sitting in front of me and reached forward, running my finger along the lip of the glass.

Jordan: She’s one of the friends. My fiance’s aunt, actually.

Bartender: This sounds complicated.

Jordan: The truth is it’s probably not. That woman and her best friend have made my life difficult at times. Particularly the best friend. She, uhh, kind of runs the roost when it comes to this group of friends. She’s the head of the hen house, if you know what I mean.

Bartender: Is this some kind of weird farm lingo?

Jordan: She’s the center of attention. The shot caller.

The bartender nodded to me. She leaned her elbows on the bar and bent down, looking directly at me. I looked up again to see the match underway, both circling each other.

Jordan: I was following along with everything they were asking of me for a while. Then family got involved. My brother wanted to help me. They don’t like my brother. But their idea of helping me is making sure I’m around when they need me. When I need them… they’re nowhere to be found.

Bartender: These don’t sound like the best friends to me.

I smiled and looked down. I grabbed the glass and brought it to my lips.

Bartender: Why are you so messed up about losing them?

Jordan: If I did indeed lose all of these friends tonight, my fiance included, I have no one.

Bartender: Come on. You have someone. Everyone has someone. You mentioned the brother.

I nodded. The truth was Jake and I just didn’t mesh. Maybe it was the product of having the same birth parents, but different families that raised us. His parents seemed like model citizens. My dad left when I was a baby. My mom was a drug-addicted whore.

Jordan: It would be hard to explain, but it’s complicated.

She nodded as I took another drink. She grabbed for a nearby towel and wiped down a portion of the counter nearby that still had the outline of a drink on it. Some long gone person who had been here not long before I lugged my suitcase in through the front doors.

Bartender: Well I’ll say this. No one is ever truly alone. Even if they feel that way. Somewhere is someone who cares about you. And somewhere else is someone new who will probably treat you better than any of them did. Trust me on that. You may not know it, but you’re not alone.

Jordan: Thanks… those are kind words, but… I don’t know. I think I screwed the pooch big time on this one. It’s hard to explain just how much I’m connected to these people.

My phone sounded with a notification. There was a missed text from Cookie from earlier. I’d left the arena in a rush and never heard it going off. She was asking me if I was ok and saying it was awesome. I slid it to the side to acknowledge the text and then saw what caused the noise. A DM from Kathryn Pearson. She was a former wrestler turned fashionista. She had sent me a few ideas for future ring attire and I agreed to come out to California after Cold Blooded to get fitted so she could make these outfits for me. I responded back that I would need to arrange a hotel for myself, but that travel was set. I gave her the dates I planned to be out there. To this point I’d only bought a one-way ticket. I had no next step in mind. Abigail was in LA, but that situation was weird. Something was off about it. Part of me wished I hadn’t uprooted my entire life to move here to New Orleans in the first place. I tucked my phone back into my purse.

Bartender: See, already. Someone reaching out to make sure you’re fine.

Jordan: Uh, sort of. A business thing and the other one… I’m not sure about her yet.

Bartender: Ah, someone you were interested in? Listen, I won’t judge. Even if you were engaged, we all have temptations.

Jordan: No, it’s not like that at all. She’s super hot and very fun, but she’s also super straight, I think, and very married.

Bartender: Sounds to me like you have a good candidate for a new friend right there. You just need to give her a chance.

I hesitated for a moment and turned to look back at my purse. A sigh escaped me and I reached back for my phone. My eyes trailed back up to the television and I could see the match was in a fever pitch. It was anyone’s game. I looked back at my phone and sent Cookie a text. She responded in seconds with a smiley and then “I’ll come get you after the show.” It didn’t change anything though. I still felt so alone. You couldn’t just replace a year’s worth of building a relationship with one cup of hot cocoa. I wasn’t Bree’s best friend, but she WAS mine. Another patron walked in and went to the opposite side. The bartender followed suit and walked down the way to check on the new customer. I looked up to see Syren on the outside and then Bree hook James’ leg and the ref count to three.

Jordan: Son of a bitch…

I smiled as the belts were handed to Bree. I was happy enough for her that I felt a single tear in the corner of my eye. But it was quickly erased by the sinking feeling that she would be making this journey without me. I felt alone again. I turned to my drink, wiped away the tear with my sleeve, and drank until the glass was empty. The bartender came walking back down, gave me a look and then turned up to the television.

Bartender: Shit… I’m sorry. Want me to turn it off?

Jordan: It’s ok. I’m actually happy for her. She’s wanted this for as long as I’ve known her. I just realized that we won’t celebrate this together.

Bartender: Who says?

Jordan: Sienna. As long as she’s alive, Bree will always take Sienna’s side.

Bartender: And you’re sure this isn’t a jealous lover thing?

I smiled, wiped away another forming tear with my left hand, and looked at the woman in front of me.

Jordan: It’s not. The love I had for Bree as a friend was unconditional. The love I received back from her and the rest of them, it was very conditional. That’s why I’m feeling the way I am right now. I guarantee you she will walk back to the locker room and she will be talking about me. I put a stain on this night for her. She will never forgive me for what I did to Sienna. I’ve seen what she’s done to other people for harming Sienna.

Bartender: This Sienna must be one special woman.

Jordan: She’s a piece of shit. A stain on the bottom of your shoe.

Bartender: Easy, hunny. That’s just your anger bleeding through. Keep a level head about this.

I turned my head away from her and looked down at the bar. I laughed and shook my head.

Jordan: Josh Hudson was right. He told me they would draw me in close and then fuck me over if I did something they didn’t like. He warned me this would happen. I told him he was wrong. I’m such an idiot…

The bartender moved down the bar closer to me so she could be sure I could hear her. She leaned in toward me.

Bartender: It sounds to me like you are no idiot. You always knew this was a potential outcome before you decided to do whatever it was you did tonight. You’re just in a bit of denial now is all. You’ve had a tough night. You get yourself some rest, you hit reset tomorrow, and you start in a whole new world. Make new friends and forget about these other ones. They were shitty friends to begin with as far as I can tell. Feeling alone… this is temporary. You’re gonna be just fine, hunny.

The bartender reached down and rested her hand on top of mine for a moment and smiled. The reassurance from a complete stranger was all I needed to press on. As she walked back down the other way, I reached into my wallet and pulled out a 100 dollar bill and placed it on the table and grabbed my suitcase and wheeled it toward the door. I left Cold Blooded behind me when I walked out of that bar. Cookie and her husband Derek met me at the security exit with their rental car and gave me a ride to the hotel. I stayed in their room that night. Cookie stayed up with me and reassured me of the future. I felt alone, but I wasn’t. I’d lost everything, but I would recover. The only thing that mattered is that I was true to myself. Even through all the pain I was feeling, that made me feel like I could charge forward. If I really was alone, I would be fine.

July 21, 2020 – Santa Monica

A noise seemed to snap me back to reality. I couldn’t quite identify what it was. Maybe Kath had come into the room for a moment. But it made me finish the shower and shut the water off. I stepped out and wrapped a towel around myself and prepared to put my hair up in one when something caught my eye. I walked into the bedroom and saw what looked like a completely new version of my wrestling gear laying out on the bed. I stepped forward to the bed and reached down and ran my fingers along the fabric. It was different. It was softer, maybe?

Kathryn: I can’t send you off for one of the biggest matches of your career wearing the same thing you wore on Breakdown last week.

I turned to see Kath sitting behind me on a chaise. She stood and walked toward me as I turned back to look at the black gear on the bed. It was perfect. Her best work yet. I felt her arms wrap around me from behind and her lips on my neck. I smiled and sighed happily into the kiss. She lingered near my left ear, her head resting on my shoulder.

Kathryn: Do you like it?

Jordan: I love it, boo. It’s the best one you’ve ever made for me. I’ll feel like you’re in the ring with me.

I grasped the material of the gear tightly in my fingers. I felt her give me another kiss on the neck and let go of me from behind. Then she stood beside me.

Kathryn: The material is more breathable. It will be a little cooler to wear when you’re running around. I’ve been playing around with this one for about two months. Trying to get it just right. It was a real labor of love. Between my normal schedule and training for Emerge lately, I’m just glad I got it done in time.

Jordan: Thank you so much. I know how busy you’ve been. I wasn’t even going to ask.

Kathryn: We have to have you looking the best, right?

She smirked and gave my butt a strong squeeze. I laid my head against her shoulder before she withdrew and started walking toward the door. I dressed myself for travel, throwing on yoga pants and a loose t-shirt. I found my garment bag and placed the new attire inside and draped it over my shoulder as I walked down the steps back to the living room. Near the front door were my two large suitcases. Kath was nowhere to be found. I walked over slowly and hung the garment on the handle of one of the suitcases and stood there. I pulled out my phone and ordered an Uber, hoping to the entities that run this shit that it wouldn’t be that man Vihaan. For a moment, I just took the house in. I took a deep breath and looked around. This place had indeed become my home. I smiled as I heard footsteps near the kitchen and saw Kath standing there with her phone.

Kathryn: I swear. I can’t leave these people alone half the time. They’d burn the store down if I didn’t check on them as much as possible.

Kath let out a frustrated laugh and slid her phone on the counter and reached for a small box. I studied her carefully as she walked toward me. I had no clue what this woman was up to.

Jordan: What’s that?

I gestured to her hand and she crossed her other hand in front and just smiled at me.

Kathryn: After we came back from Cardiff, I got to thinking. You know I’m so happy for you with this show and everything it’s going to mean for you. I know how busy you’re going to be and how worried you are about it putting a strain on things between us. I know how much that’s all weighing on you right now.

Jordan: It is. I’m just sort of… trying to contain myself right now because I know I’m about to leave.

Kathryn: Babe, this is going to be a big journey for you. For us, even. You will never be alone. No matter what. If we need to video call every day or you need me to come up there… we’ll do whatever it takes. But when I’m not there, I want you to have a piece of me with you all the time.

Kath took the box in her hands and brought it up. She opened it to reveal a smaller box, with a velvet lining on the outside. Her hands were trembling, like this was some sort of big moment. I reached out and grabbed her wrist. We locked eyes and smiled.

Jordan: What is this?

Kathryn: I don’t usually do this sappy shit, but you brought this out of me. This is a locket I had made for you. It looked like your style with all the jewelry you wear outside of the ring.

Kath opened the box to reveal a large heart pendant necklace. It would perfectly go with just about anything. The necklace was open. I took the box and held it up, trying to look at the picture.

Jordan: It’s us.

Kathryn: That, Kylie, is the picture we took together when we went on the picnic on the beach right after you moved here. It’s around the time that I already knew I was attracted to you. And I had some suspicions that you felt the same.

Jordan: Guess you nailed that.

We both giggled and she put an arm around my back, grabbing me by the waist.

Kathryn: It was also around that time that I realized how much I like having you around here. The moments when you aren’t here started to feel a little lonely. Kinda… empty.

I bit my lip. I was trying to hold back the emotion that was yearning to pour out of me. Kath grabbed the necklace out of the box by the chain and walked around behind me. She ran her hands to the front and I grabbed my hair instinctively, knowing she was putting the necklace on me. She walked back around to the front and looked at the necklace dangling over my shirt and smiled. I reached down and held the heart in my fingers.

Jordan: This is so freaking cheesy, but I love it babe.

Kath let out a laugh and then leaned forward and grasped me in a tight embrace. I could feel her trembling against me. I knew that once I could see her face, once she was holding me this closely, she’d begun to cry. I had tears in my eyes as well. I suppose it was only natural in a moment like this to have those kinds of feelings. She broke off the embrace and held me by both shoulders, leaning away from me. She forced a smile, an even more forced laugh.

Kathryn: This is going to suck isn’t it?

I followed her example and did the same thing.

Jordan: I haven’t even left yet and it already does. I shouldn’t have done this fucking show.

Kathryn: Stop that! You’re doing this show. Even if it comes out as the worst show they’ve ever put on television. You’re going to be great and people are going to love you almost as much as I love you.

Jordan: Are you seriously going to video call me everyday?

Kath reached up with a hand and wiped a tear out of the corner of my eye with her thumb.

Kathryn: Of course I am.

Jordan: You’re never going to get anything done. I’ll have you on the phone for hours!

She let out a hearty laugh and pulled me in tightly, smothering me against her chest for a moment. When she let me go I was happily dazed. The world knew I wasn’t blessed in the chest, but Kath made up for it for the both of us. Actually, Cookie made up for it for the whole world, but in my small world Kath was enough.

Kathryn: I’ll manage, babe, trust me. We’ll be fine. I know we were both a little worried about this but the more I think about it… what’s a few months? People deal with way more distance for much longer periods of time and they do just fine. I just know how you are. I still remember the girl that showed up here and exactly how lost she was. Or how lost she thought she was. The truth was you never really found yourself until you just started being true to yourself.

I nodded, looking slightly up at Kath – maybe an inch or two taller than me. She knew me well. Kath could read me like a book in many situations. This was a woman who could tell I liked her and grew frustrated by the fact that I clearly ignored her attempts to get me to make a move for nearly a month. Of course she had me pegged.

Kathryn: A couple months ago, Jay really wanted to watch Cold Blooded. I conceded after barely any fighting. It’s funny. He was so glad when Peyton beat you.

I let out a laugh and then stuck out my lip, making a pouty face. Kath laughed back at me.

Kathryn: But then later, you came out again. He looked at me like “oh no, not her!” I told him to calm down. I thought you were nice. I told him I was planning to make your new gear. If you liked it at least. Then you took down Sienna. The face he made… he thought you were the coolest. And for once he thought I was the coolest because I could be styling you for the fans. But that night I realized something about you. I thought you were just another one of those rich bitches who just falls in line with the Beauty Factory and terrorizes the roster. You are so much more than that. You aren’t as simple as they are. You’re a complicated woman with a lot of deep emotions that were just begging to get out. I love what you’ve become in the ring. Even if I didn’t love you like I do now, it’s impossible to not be a fan of what you’re doing. The whole world wishes they could just be themselves. The whole world is going to be watching to see you prove Sienna wrong this weekend.

I felt the mounting pressure on me. I was nervous as it is, but Kath had basically just laid out everything in front of me. For the last few months I had felt the target on my back growing. The crowd was chanting my name every time they saw me. Sienna seemed to be growing more and more irate. She had tried to injure me a few weeks ago to avoid the match all together. This match was as big for her in its opportunity to hit me in the mouth as it was for me to show that someone could overcome a bad experience with everyone’s least favorite angel. I looked down to see myself unconsciously scratching at my arm. Kath clearly caught on and she grabbed my hand, pulling it down to the side and holding it tightly.

Kathryn: This is all just a long-winded way to say that no matter what happens in that match with Sienna, don’t forget who you are. Don’t fall into her traps. Be true to yourself and you will be fine.

Jordan: How do you know that?

Kathryn: Because ever since you started being you and doing what was best for you it seems like everything has turned around for you.

Jordan: Maybe that means it’s just setting me up for a big fall.

Kathryn: You can’t think that way.

Jordan: Kath, this is me we’re talking about.

Kath laughed, but I shot her a more serious look.

Kathryn: You’re going to be fine. But just make sure you do one thing for me.

Jordan: Uh, ok what’s that?

Kathryn: Well, two things. If Dave wins, make sure he doesn’t get a big head.

I laughed at her statement, knowing that wouldn’t happen. I know she didn’t expect that to happen.

Kathryn: And as soon as you can, call me. I want you to tell me and Jay what it was like to fight in your first singles match at Rise to Greatness. Jay will be so impressed. And I’ll just be happy to hear your voice.

I felt some of that emotion welling up in me now. For a moment Kath had successfully distracted me from the reality of the situation. I was about to leave her here for the next few months. Hopefully we would see each other in person, but I knew most of it would be over the phone. There was a knock on the door behind me. I looked at Kath curiously as I turned and walked over to open it. Standing there smiling was that little shit Vihaan.

Vihaan: Hello miss Jordan! It is me! Vih-

I slammed the door shut and turned back to Kath who was giving me a look like what the hell? I shrugged.

Kathryn: Friend of yours?

Jordan: Not at all. Uber driver. But I’m in the process of saying goodbye and I don’t want to deal with his shit.

Kath saw me starting to cry again and she pulled me close and planted a kiss on my lips. I held onto her like I didn’t want to let go. She placed her hand on my chest, on top of the locket. She leaned back and then pressed her forehead against mine.

Kathryn: I’m with you always. Don’t you forget that. Toronto might be on the other side of this continent, but I’m never that far away. And any break you get from filming you better sure as hell be coming to the UK with me again for my Emerge booking.

Jordan: I don’t know if I can do this.

Kathryn: I love you, Kylie. I know you can do this. You’re capable of anything, baby. Now go show the world what I already know.

Kath gave me another kiss and then she followed me outside. Vihaan loaded my luggage into the car while Kath and I spoke next to the car. Kath gave me one last kiss before I got into the car and Vihaan left for the airport. The man did what he was best at, rambling on about his life. But I sat quietly in the back thinking about a future I hoped I was ready for. In just a few days I needed the performance of a lifetime to beat Sienna at Rise to Greatness. Everyone seemed to think I was ready. I didn’t want to let them down. And after that, I was set to become an actress. It was all pretty surreal. But I didn’t feel alone. I had a whole system of people behind me. From Kath to Cookie to the whole Helms family. I wasn’t alone. And as long as I stayed true to myself, maybe I’d never have to feel that way ever again.

Promo

A shot opens on Jordan Majors sitting on a bed in what looks like a hotel suite. The bed is covered in pictures. Someone is behind the camera as Jordan picks one up. She moves closer to the camera and displays a photo of her in a costume from Halloween. Standing next to her is Sienna and Sierra Swann. Bree Lancaster is on the other side of Sienna. Jordan holds the picture down and smiles.

There’s an old saying that a picture can say a 1,000 words. That saying is probably just bullshit. One of those things old men came up with when they had the need to mansplain things to women back in the days when they couldn’t accept how intelligent we are. When I look at this picture, I don’t see 1,000 words worth. I don’t even see the truth. I see four women standing together, and one of them living a lie. Since this picture was taken I’ve learned that all the negative things I came to know about the other three were basically true. All the warnings that were lobbied my ways by peers. It was all right. And the girl standing between two Swann’s there? She was trying her hardest to be what they needed her to be. She was trying to survive. But even survivors have to have that breaking point. That moment when they have to decide between just trying to survive and actually fighting for themselves. The truth is there’s a lot less risk in just toeing the line and doing just enough to survive. That’s what I did. But in the end, I only lost myself.

She drops one photo and picks up another. Bree and Sienna standing together. Sienna has the SCW title on her shoulder. Jordan is in the background, smiling and slightly out of focus.

Heh, ok. Maybe they do say 1,000 words. This one says a lot doesn’t it. I was a part of their group, but not quite. Even then, I knew the truth but I never really wanted to admit it. Bree was the one who championed me. At nearly every turn. Sienna is the one who held me down. I was never enough for her. I could never be enough for her. To be honest it drove me to pour myself into my career. There were numerous times my personal life took a back seat to me pushing myself until I was about to collapse. I couldn’t imagine what it would take for me to finally get Sienna to believe in me. It made me doubt myself. Why could Bree see so much in me that I could tell Sienna didn’t? I would ask Bree about it on occasion and she just… cut me off. She didn’t see it. Or maybe she just didn’t want to. It’s natural for us as humans to sense when someone doesn’t believe in you. I never needed her to compliment me or tell me I was doing a good job. I knew that wasn’t who Sienna Swann was. I just wanted acceptance. But after a while I began to accept that it would happen.

Jordan tosses the photo to the floor and searches the bed in front of her for another one. She picks up a pair of photos. One from the Trios Buy-In and another from the night she won the Adrenaline Championship. Each photo has just her and Jaina. Bree and Sienna aren’t in sight.

As time wore on, acceptance turned into frustration. I admit it started to get under my skin. I don’t know if Bree told Sienna or not, but I confronted her about it in a passionate argument. It started civil, but turned into a loud back and forth. I was just explaining my feelings about how things have gone for me and telling her my thoughts on Sienna’s actions regarding me. Bree was busy defending Sienna like a high-paid defense attorney. There was no glove to check the fit on or DNA to investigate. It was just Bree’s strong opinion that Sienna hadn’t done a thing wrong. She believed the real problem here was my head.

She drops the pictures and gestures to her head.

It was just all in my mind. Sienna never felt a negative thought about me. She just wanted me to prove myself. What else could I do shy of winning the SCW Championship from James Evans to convince her that I was worthy? You could say I was just jealous of the attention that she got from Bree, but you’d be mistaken. I was perplexed by the undying loyalty Bree was ready to give her regardless of the situation. And then, all my fears about the entire situation were proven right all at once.

Jordan reaches down and picks up a photo that shows her standing alone with the Adrenaline Championship backstage.

There was a moment when Bree was hurt. She was assisting Sienna in her Trios contract cash-in. I ran down to the ring to help Bree, to make sure she was ok. Sienna lost. To her, I was the reason she lost. She needed someone to blame and rather than point the finger at herself in a situation where she was able to stack the odds against the champion, she pointed it at me. That’s when she decided to target my brother. And despite this all happening right out in front of everyone’s eyes, I was still told this was all in my head. This is probably all a long way to say that, yes, I did feel manipulated. Sienna and all her friends have made it clear that they see me as a liar since I changed the course of our relationships on April 19, 2020. I said they manipulated me and they scoffed. They rolled their eyes and waved it off as me just being jealous and rebellious. But when you spend months pointing out every concern you have, everything that makes you feel off, only to be told you’re wrong… told Sienna couldn’t possibly be doing what you think she is… it’s all one absolute mindfuck. Her friendship has blinded her friends from seeing the truth. And she is a puppet master, deliberately pulling the strings and manipulating every situation she can into her favor.

She turns and looks into the camera, tossing the photo over her shoulder.

I cut my strings and freed myself. I said goodbye to nearly everything in my life so that I could take back control. I’ll admit I had reservations about doing it in the first place. I had regrets in the moments following my choice to plant you on your face at Cold Blooded, Sienna. But everything that has happened in the moments since then has reinforced my belief that I made the right decision to turn my back on you. You can say whatever you want about me, call me all the worst names you can come up with, and preach to the world that I can’t hold a candle to you. Go ahead, tell the world all your deepest, darkest thoughts about me. It’s not going to make a difference in how I feel. My truth is still my story here. I’m just calling it like I see it, Sienna. No one is willing to stand up to you. Your whole group from within, they just fall in line. This has nothing to do with your relationship with Bree. It has everything to do with me taking the control you had over me for so long and stomping it out of existence.

Jordan turns and picks up a photo of her and Cookie. She looks at it and smiles.

My life was so intertwined with your group. But I was never meant to be someone’s soldier or lackey on command. I didn’t know what I was capable of. But now you do. So what if you eliminated me at Taking Hold of the Flame. I know it grates at you that I was in the ring longer overall than you were. The more independent I’ve grown away from you, the more I’ve seen you fear me. There’s no other reason you had to try and injure me before we made it to Rise to Greatness. You know how much this match means to me. And I know how much it will hurt you to lose. This match isn’t about you, though. It’s about Jordan Majors. I will cleanse myself of all of the pain and anxiety you caused me and I will clip the wings of the angel and leave her bruised, broken, and battered.

She turns and picks up one more photo and looks at it closely. Another smile grows on her face as she puts the photo in her lap and looks down at it.

At some point along the way I realized how much I was missing while I was busy trying to be who you wanted me to be. I lost who I needed to be. I’ve never been perfect, like a Peyton Rice. I never will be. I’ll never call myself an angel like you do. I know I will always be fighting a certain level of darkness. I may never be the most loved or the most hated person on the SCW roster. But I will be myself, and that’s something you will never be able to take from me again. The moment I took back my life and decided to be true to me was the moment I finally started living. At Rise to Greatness, I put the punctuation mark on this story. I put you in the past. Where you belong. And I finally look forward to a future where I know I am capable of doing all the things you told me I never would. I’ll do it all without you. Because I never needed you.

Jordan sits the photo of her and a woman to the side and looks back into the camera, as serious as she’s been the whole time.

I will beat you Sienna. And I will relish all the excuses you make after the fact. I will smile at every time you complain about poor treatment from Sasha. I will laugh every time something goes wrong for you. Because you deserve all of it. Every bad thing that has ever happened to you has been the equal opposite reaction of the poor decision you made to mess with the wrong person. You tried to take advantage of me, and for a while it worked. Not anymore. You tried to hold me down, and it was successful for a little bit. Never again. For the past few months I’ve been told I need to be careful. Sienna is unhinged. She’s pissed. She’s going to make it her goal to destroy you at Rise to Greatness. Well, Sienna, I’m not afraid of you. On Sunday you’ll find out you picked the wrong bitch to fuck with. This is my moment to truly Cash Out and leave you lying. This is my time now. You can take this to the bank, Sienna Swann. Because Jordan Majors is money.

The shot zooms in on Jordan’s face as she stares intently into the camera. It shows just her eyes. This time she doesn’t wink, or even blink, before the shot goes black.

Leave a comment