Breakdown 7-8-2021

July 1, 2021 – Memphis

Demons exorcised. I dished out a beating to Konrad Rabb. He got some shots in, too. But in the end, I did what I sat out to do. I beat him. I proved him wrong once again. And his friends didn’t come out to help him. They let him take the beating. They hung him out to dry like we all knew they would. But I got what I asked for, too. I had challenged Nicole a week earlier and she showed up out of nowhere. It happened in a flash. One big shot and a bunch of stomps. I went to stand and saw her relentlessness as she hit me yet again. I was left blinking, looking… dumb? I don’t know, it didn’t sit right with me that I was so unprepared.

Nothing has ever kept me down, and I don’t intend on letting her be the one that holds me down in that way. I didn’t like the image I saw when I walked backstage. Me on the ground, blinking like a shocked child. I rolled my eyes at the presentation of it and promised myself right then that I would not let that happen at Rise to Greatness. I asked for a fight, and I would deliver on my end when the time came. As I headed toward the locker room, Dean Black made eye contact with me and took his headset off. He hurried over to me as I slowed to a stop and waited for him.

Dean: Jordan. Great as always.

Jordan: Thanks? Ending was kind of…

Dean: Is what it is. Listen, I wanted to let you know before you hear it on the show later. You’ve got Selena next week.

Jordan: Huh!?

Dean gave me a pat on the back and I turned away and ran a hand through my hair as he walked off. As I made my way to the locker room, Bree and Scott stepped out from her locker room and we nearly ran into each other. I had a look on my face that caught Bree’s attention. We stared at each other and she gestured at Scott and he knowingly started to walk off.

Bree: What’s going on?

Jordan: What do you mean?

Bree: I obviously saw what happened in the ring, but you look like you just got hit by a bus. Did Nicole get to you that much?

Jordan: No, she–

Bree: She’s unique, you know? I don’t even have advice on how you prepare for that. She’s just… different.

Jordan: It’s not Nicole. I’ll be ready for her. I know that. It’s just… Dean just told me I’m facing Selena next week. I’m shocked.

Bree: Why does it shock you?

I shrugged to her and then shook my head.

Jordan: I guess I don’t feel like I’m at her level.

Bree shot me the oddest look and then she laughed softly. It was obvious she was laughing at me. What I said had apparently drawn that reaction.

Jordan: You think that’s funny or something?

Bree: A little bit. Didn’t we just have a conversation about this last month? You showed up down on yourself. No confidence. I thought we’d moved past that.

Jordan: It’s not a confidence issue. I’ve fought Selena in tag matches. I know I can do it. I guess I was just surprised by this one.

Bree: It’s fine to be surprised, but don’t be caught off guard. Especially not because you think you’re worth less than you are. Maybe you haven’t held a bunch of titles or had the most opportunities to do so, but you were basically the co-main event of Rise to Greatness last year, right?

Jordan: I guess, but I mean… I lost.

Bree: So did I. What’s your point?

I shrugged and let out a sigh.

Bree: I’ve met a lot of people in this business. I have plenty friends and probably even more enemies. Out of all of them, I’m not sure I’ve met anyone who’s as hard on themselves as you are. So you’re facing the world champion on Breakdown… ugh…

Jordan: What?

Bree: Even just saying that about Selena…

Bree shook her head and stopped herself for a moment. Like she was collecting her thoughts. She looked at me as the silence hung between us.

Bree: What I’m trying to say is, you are capable of beating Selena. You are every bit the fighter she is. Selena is tough. We’ve traded wins, but I’ve fought both of you and you have the capability to beat her. You think you lost at Rise to Greatness last year because they raised Sienna’s hand. It’s semantics. You won because you didn’t take the cheap way out. You still stood up. You showed the world something about you they didn’t know. And then at Apocalypse, you did it again.

I let out a sigh and I crossed my arms.

Bree: One of these days you’re going to realize that you are capable of holding the entire world in the palm of your hand. You’re going to realize that’s how much power you have. And I can’t wait to see it.

Jordan: You really think that?

Bree: I do. I mean, I hope it doesn’t happen while I’m the world champion…

We both laughed together and then stood there. I moved forward and hugged her. She seemed surprised, but accepted it.

Bree: If you don’t believe me, go talk to Sienna. The whole thing drove her crazy last year. How much you could control the moment. The crowd, all of it. I’m sure Sierra could take you over.

I reached back and scratched the back of my neck. My smile turned awkward as our hug broke. It was practically written on my face in magic marker. Bree picked up on it, just like she had as we ran into each other. But she knew this was different. Her brow was raised in question.

Bree: Should I even ask?

Jordan: I’m not sure that you want to.

Bree: Did something happen between you and Sierra?

I sighed and looked down.

Jordan: Like two months ago, yeah.

Bree looked at me. I could tell she was doing some math inside of her head. Her eyes went a little wide when she realized it. If what I said was true, then I was single when I came to visit her in Louisiana. I never mentioned it then. Even played it off like we were indeed still together.

Bree: What did you do!?

Jordan: What do you mean, what did I do!? It was a mutual thing.

Bree: Mutual because you did something, or?

Jordan: Jesus, Bree? Mutual because it was mutual. We just… wanted and needed different things. And to be honest it wasn’t worth risking our friendship over this. We are such good friends. I love her in that role and I’d rather have that friendship than to have kept going nowhere and being frustrated or complicating things, you know?

I could tell Bree almost wasn’t buying this explanation, but she wasn’t going to challenge me on it. I knew her skeptical look. It was the same look I got out of her when I used to argue with her about Sienna.

Bree: I suppose it’s good to be single for a while. You can focus on things.

Jordan: Heh… yeah…

Bree: Unless of course, in typical you fashion, you’ve already found someone else.

Jordan: Hey! Come on!

Bree: Well, I’m not going to be the one to judge you. We’ve gotten off topic, I’m just very surprised to hear about all of this. I can’t believe you didn’t say anything.

Jordan: It wasn’t important then. I was just… trying to figure out what was wrong with me.

I turned and leaned against the wall as we looked at each other. Bree smiled.

Bree: There’s never been anything “wrong” with you, Jordan. You’re just… still growing. But you never want to stop growing. Because when you do, you’ll start falling behind.

I smiled and nodded to her. Bree touched my shoulder and smiled back to me.

Bree: Good luck next week. Go beat the world champ.

She gave me a wink and began walking away. I let out a deep breath and headed back to the locker room. It wasn’t a loss of confidence for me. I was nervous of the moment. I was entrusted to take on the world champion, one-on-one, in a non-title match right on the cusp of the biggest show of the year. So many eyes would be on our match. They’d be looking to see if Jordan Majors had learned anything or if she still looked lost. I knew I had turned things around quickly since I hit rock bottom just a few months ago. But I still hadn’t proved that to the world. What a perfect opportunity to do so in the ring with the world champion.

Selena had been on a tear lately. Looking dominant. Looking like she’d overcome anything. But I wanted to be the one to shake things up. Put a chink in her armor and show that she wasn’t unstoppable. But mostly, I wanted to prove I belonged in a ring with the best of the best in SCW. When I’d been eliminated from Taking Hold of the Flame by Asher he told me that I still wasn’t ready. It’s time for me to prove him, and all the rest of my doubters, wrong.

July 3, 2021 – Los Angeles

I woke up on a Saturday to an unexpected ringing of my doorbell. I woke up frantically and threw a shirt and shorts on and hurried to the door as the chime continued to ring. I stumbled my way to the door and threw it open to see a man standing there with a car in the near distance behind him. He looked at me for a moment and then pulled up a clipboard. As I looked past him, I recognized Vihaan’s Cadillac Escalade sitting in my driveway. I feared the worst immediately. Why was his car here, but not him. And who was this man in shorts and a t-shirt, even wearing flip flips, that was standing at my door.

Man: Uh.. are you… Mrs… uhh…

Man: Listen, ma’am. I don’t know how to say this last name. Or the first name. Are you Vee… Han’s wife?

He gave me a nervous look and then took a deep breath.

Jordan: God no… did something happen to him? Why is his car here?

Man: Well, a party called Supreme Championship Wrestling said this was his last known address.

Jordan: He definitely doesn’t live here, but he’s my personal driver.

The man took a step back from the door and looked at my house. He looked around the property and then back at me.

Man: No offense, but… you live in a place like this and you need a driver?

I rolled my eyes and crossed my arms as I leaned against the door frame.

Jordan: I do take offense to that. What do you need from me?

Man: We’re going to leave this car here. This is where we were told to leave it, so… I’m not going to go chasing around this city looking for a place to take it.

Jordan: Isn’t that illegal or something? It’s not even my car!

Man: Ma’am… we’re from Canada. We’re just trusting you to do the right thing here.

Jordan: Of course. SCW.

I nodded to myself and the man shoved the clipboard toward me.

Man: Sign this, please. It just states that if anything happens to this car while you have it… we’re not responsible. We delivered it to you in this manner and it showed up undamaged.

Jordan: Isn’t it damaged though?

He shoved that clipboard back toward me and I took it and signed on the dotted line with the pen. When I handed it back he held out keys for me and placed them in my hand. And then they left me there with the car. I ventured out of the house after changing into real clothes and gave the car a look over. I tried to give V a call, but he didn’t answer. I texted Cookie for his address and she responded in seconds. Honestly it freaked me out. How the hell did she know that information?

Man: Listen, it had the dents in the doors and the hood when we got it, ok?

Lost on what to do, I hopped behind the wheel of the large SUV and set up navigation to head to Vihaan’s. The trip was really touch and go. I was white knuckling that steering wheel the whole time and I’m shocked I didn’t add a new dent or drive it right off the road. When I arrived at Vihaan’s place, I saw a large apartment building. I parked in the first open spot I could and walked toward the door. The mailboxes were all marked with names. There were three different ones that started with a “V.” but only one with a long, unreadable last name. I felt so awful even assuming it, but I went to that apartment and knocked. I heard the noise of things rustling around on the inside and a TV being turned down. A bottle tipped over and then the door started to unlock.

When it opened I saw one of the saddest things I’d ever seen. Vihaan stood there in a robe with a pair of jeans on. He had the scruffiest beard I’d ever seen on him. His normally styled hair looked messy and unkempt. His eyes were baggy. I hadn’t seen him much in the last week or so. I’d been getting rides from Dawn on occasion. The man had let himself go since then.

Jordan: V… are you, uhh, ok?

Vihaan looked at me and then scratched at his beard. He shrugged and let out a deep sigh. He looked like he was almost asleep. I reached into the pocket of my pants and produced his keys. I held them up in front of him and his eyes focused on them. I saw tears well up in his eyes as he slowly reached out and took them from my hand. Not knowing what else to do, I leaned forward and embraced him in a hug. My head rested on his bare chest for a moment until I felt weird lost in that briar patch of a man’s breast. I let go and stepped back.

Jordan: It’s right outside. Want to go see it?

Vihaan: Yes. Let me change.

Vihaan shut the door on me instead of inviting me in. It was rude, but I also kind of expected it from him. It took him about five minutes to come out with a t-shirt and some sandals on. He still looked unusually unkempt. We started down the stairs and I looked back at him.

Jordan: Are you ok?

Vihaan: Yes Miss Jordan. I’ll be fine. My baby is here now. I just want to see it if’s damaged beyond repair.

Jordan: Honestly? I think it looks really good. Like, someone cleaned it.

Vihaan: Who? You?

Jordan: No, it showed up at my house this morning. As clean as a new car.

Vihaan nodded and then he stopped on the stairs. I stopped and turned around.

Jordan: What is it?

Vihaan: How did the car get here?

Jordan: I… drove it here…

Vihaan: Astaghfirallah!

Vihaan practically shoved me out of the way as he moved down the steps at a frantic pace and out the front door of the complex. When I caught up with him, he was laying his upper body against the hood of the car. His arms were outstretched like he was giving it a hug. He saw me coming and marched in my direction, stopping me in my tracks.

Vihaan: You will never drive this again. Do you understand me Miss Jordan?

Jordan: Yes! Sheesh!? I tried to call and you didn’t answer.

Vihaan: Never again!

I put my hands up as Vihaan opened the door and started looking around. I could tell he was surveying the car and looking for any issues. I hadn’t noticed anything, but I knew he would find it if something was off. Suddenly, I noticed he was licking his fingers and rubbing something in the back seat. I took a few steps closer and tried to see over his shoulder.

Vihaan: There is something on the seat!

Jordan: Where?

Vihaan: There! The white mark!

Jordan: Oh boy…

Vihaan: What boy? Who?

Jordan: No, it’s a saying. Like… nevermind. Listen, Kandis and Tommy had the car a lot. Who knows what they did with it.

Vihaan stopped and turned around and stared at me.

Vihaan: What they did in my car?

Jordan: Let’s just say I wouldn’t be taking a black light to the back seat. Or honestly, anywhere in this thing.

Vihaan: A black light? What is this black light?

Jordan: You really don’t know?

Vihaan stared blankly at me. I swallowed and then bit my lip.

Jordan: A black light shows things like blood or–

Vihaan: Blood!?

Jordan: Or other bodily fluids, like… I don’t even want to say it.

Vihaan: They do the boom boom thing in my car!?

Jordan: I don’t know if we’re talking about the same thing so I’m going to say probably? They probably do it everywhere. It’s honestly kind of admirable in some ways, but–

Vihaan: This is disgusting! We must burn this car immediately. Wait… or maybe I give it to Vijaan! He think it great gift from his cousin, but it have very special stain. It take him months to find it.

Jordan: Or maybe, I take this and we get it detailed again. Just to make sure they get everything. Ok?

Vihaan stepped out of the backseat and shut the door. He crossed his arms as he looked at the car. Again he looked like he might cry.

Jordan: V, I understand exactly how proud you are of this car. Let’s not make any rash decisions here. Cookie and I talked last week and I told her I would do right by you.

Vihaan: Miss Cookie talked about me?

Jordan: Yes, she did. We talked about you. She said that I needed to help you and I agree. You’re more than just a driver. You’re a friend. And I…

I was biting my lip again. I walked around to the front of the car and I sat down. Vihaan followed me curiously and stood just behind me.

Jordan: I need to really apologize, V. You showed up on Breakdown a lot over the past month or so and I know you were just trying to help me and my friends. There were times when you were more loyal than I was. I really fucked up.

Vihaan sat down next to me. He looked over at me and smiled.

Vihaan: I know you, Miss Jordan. The first time I meet you, I see you throw a shoe at someone’s door. You cry, cry, cry. Your face all marked up by your makeup. I said to myself, be careful Vihaan. You can tell this one is wild. I thought about asking you on a date. But then I noticed you only like the girls. Like me!

I giggled softly and shook my head at him.

Vihaan: But I know enough about you to know when you need space. I can tell when you are in trouble. I can feel when you are sad or happy. What I mean is, I know you Miss Jordan. I know you didn’t mean to be mean to Vihaan.

Jordan: It doesn’t change the fact that I was a royal bitch to you. And I’m not that person anymore. At least I’m trying not to be. But I was at a breaking point, V. I was in a bad, bad place. I took it out on you. On Cookie. On David…

Vihaan: Poor David. He will never walk again.

Jordan: Vihaan, he’s fine. I saw him last week. It’s a broken leg. He’s not paralyzed. But that’s not the point. I just… I needed you to know that I’m sorry. And that this isn’t a one-way friendship. If you ever need anything from me. Just ask. I might not be able to help, but if I can… I’ll be there for you. Ok?

Vihaan: Ok.

I smiled and Vihaan smiled back. We both looked away and at the ground in front of us.

Vihaan: Actually, I thought of something.

I turned to look at him. Already? I should have known it wouldn’t take long.

Vihaan: When you go out and fight, will you stop getting in your own way?

I stared at him for a moment, and then I looked at the ground in front of me. I was wide eyed at the question.

Vihaan: I see you go out all the time. You fight hard. But you don’t truly believe in yourself like I wish you would. Look at what you’ve done in some of those big matches. The only thing keeping you from getting where you want to be, Miss Jordan, is you.

Jordan: V… where is this coming from?

Vihaan: It’s no different than what you would tell me. You made me believe I could be more than just an Uber driver. You showed me that. And I went and I won the End of the Year Battle Royal World Championship. And no one can ever take that from me.

I smiled and laughed softly to myself.

Vihaan: And I entered the Taking the Flame by Hold match and I almost won. I was top 20 in the biggest match of the year. Who else can say that?

Jordan: Like… 19 other people, but I do get your point.

Vihaan: So then tell me. Can you do this? What I ask? Can you fight for you and prove that you are one of the best?

I smiled and nodded.

Jordan: Ok, V. I’ll do it. I face the World Champ next week and I’ll do it.

Vihaan: You have a world champ match?

Jordan: No. Not at all. Non-title.

Vihaan: This… this bitch! She not a fighting champion!?

Jordan: It doesn’t work like that, man!

Vihaan: Let me call Black Dean. I figure this out!

Jordan: V, his name is… forget it…

I watched Vihaan storm off before I could even get the words out and I sat there on the curb alone. I couldn’t help but smile as I thought about what Vihaan had said to me. Even my driver… my friend could recognize that I was holding myself back. I was the reason I hadn’t reached my peak yet. But in promising to make that change for him, I was also making that promise to myself. I had a unique chance to prove that I belong. I’ve had so many chances and I’ve floundered because of my own stubbornness or just letting my mind get in the way. But now everyone was reminding me how capable I am. And for maybe the first time in my career, I agree with them. I have everything I need to beat anyone. Even the world champion.

July 4, 2021 – Los Angeles

I spent the next day with Dawn to celebrate some Independence Day festivities. We got a stare or two as Dawn brought me with her to a few parties to make appearances. But eventually we found our way to the beach for a picnic of sorts. A late dinner with the fireworks illuminating over the ocean. As I watched the waves quietly, letting the last rays of the sun wash over me, I looked over at Dawn with her nose buried in a book. There were times the silence would kill me when I was with Dawn. But it was also nice to have those moments, too. They forced me to quietly reflect. They made me appreciate her even more. But I never knew how she could fall into a book like that. Lost like I wasn’t even there.

I turned on my blanket and ran my hand along her thigh. She put the book down on her stomach and looked over at me. In that moment, just us looking at each other, I tried to imagine what she was thinking. I could see her reading my eyes like she read those pages. Line for line. Not missing a thing.

Dawn: Something on your mind?

I smiled, a slight giggle escaping my lips. Something was on my mind. A funny thought actually.

Jordan: I was just wondering…

Dawn: Yes?

Jordan: Next week when I take on Selena, who are you going to be cheering for?

Dawn: What kind of question is that?

Jordan: Well, obviously I know at Rise to Greatness that Britt will be hoping for my death or something. But I hoped maybe my odds were better with you.

Dawn: You know exactly who I’m pulling for on Breakdown. So there’s no need to ask.

I smiled and leaned on my elbow.

Dawn: I’m pulling for Selena.

Jordan: What!? Why!?

Dawn: Because I’m kidding and I wanted to get that exact reaction out of you for my own selfish reasons.

Jordan: Well… that wasn’t the most wonderful thing you could do.

Dawn: Don’t hit me with my own catchphrase. It’s not always as cute as you think it is.

Jordan: But I’m always cute. And that’s why I do it.

I smiled ear to ear and Dawn couldn’t help but smile back. She rolled her eyes at me and closed her book, sitting it off to the side. In a short time we had grown very close. We’d already traveled together, talked about things in the future… she didn’t know it yet but she was going to be my plus one at a wedding soon enough. Dawn turned over on her stomach and leaned on her arms to look at me.

Dawn: What brought up that random question?

Jordan: I don’t know.

Dawn: Nerves?

Jordan: Maybe? Is it bad that I’m already nervous about it?

Dawn: If you weren’t nervous, you wouldn’t be normal. You’re just human. You recognize the enormity of what’s coming. Even with that match against Nicole on the horizon, how can you not want to beat the world champ? I get it.

I let out a sigh. Maybe one of relief? It felt nice to know that me being this nervous wasn’t some crazy thing, but a totally normal reaction.

Dawn: Is it more though?

Jordan: More?

Dawn: I’m not trying to predict the future at all, but what if you lose that match?

Jordan: I don’t want to think that way.

Dawn: Just, tell me. If you lose, then how will you feel?

Jordan: I mean, it’s obvious. I’ll feel like a failure.

Dawn shook her head and signed, put her face down against the blanket.

Jordan: Dawn? What!?

Dawn: You and Liz, I swear.

Jordan: What?

Dawn: Look at everything in your life. All that you’ve accomplished. Both in and out of the ring. Do you really think you’re a failure?

Jordan: You can’t add everything together like that. Out of the ring is its own thing.

Dawn: Have you ever stopped to think about your in-ring success helping you out of the ring?

Jordan: What in-ring success?

Dawn: You were the Adrenaline Champion!

Jordan: Yeah, for like a hiccup thought. Right? What else have I done. I think they just thought… I don’t know. It just feels like an accident.

Dawn: You see it as failure because you have these huge goals and they haven’t all come to fruition for you. I see it all as a success. Something to be proud of. So you’ve lost some matches here and there. We all have. Even the great ones. The greatest ones. And you… you have so much more left to give. You’ve barely scratched the surface of what you will do in this company.

Dawn’s confidence in me felt like more than I had in myself. I smiled and leaned over to place a kiss on her cheek. She leaned on her arm and adjusted so that the kiss landed on her lips. We looked at each with those smiles. I shook my head and looked up at the sky as it slowly faded toward night time.

Jordan: I just… I expected to be in such a different place by now.

Dawn: Different how?

Jordan: I wanted to be seen for what I think I could be. One of the best wrestlers in the world?

Dawn: Ugh! Jordan!

Jordan: What!?

I laughed at her reaction. It caught me off guard.

Dawn: What a generic thing to say. Everyone wants to be the best. We all know that. If you don’t want to be the best, then why are you even doing this anymore. But the wins and losses will not define you in the end. Either will the titles you hold.

Jordan: Dave said that to me once.

Dawn: I guess he’s a wise man then.

Jordan: I hated him for it when he said it. It felt like… he didn’t understand how I felt about things. But I’m in a different place now.

Dawn: When did he tell you that?

Jordan: In May.

Dawn: In May!? So you’re a different person than you were two months ago?

Even on my back, I shrugged. I turned my head and looked at her. The expression on her face made me smile and laugh softly.

Jordan: Yeah, I really think I am.

I drug my fingers through the sand on each side of me as I let myself get lost in thought. A distant boom of a firework snapped me back to reality and I sat up and looked back toward the city to see the colors in the air.

Dawn: So… biggest non-title match of your career they’re saying. What do you say?

Jordan: I say…

I smiled and sat up. I looked down at her.

Jordan: No matter what happens, it’s going to be a learning experience. Is it the biggest match ever?

I shrugged as Dawn moved to sit up as well.

Jordan: I’ve had a lot of big matches. I don’t get concerned with that. But it’s a cool opportunity. I remember watching her when I was coming up in the business. When she was using your kick.

Dawn: She made it her own though.

Jordan: Sure…

Dawn rolled her eyes and let out a soft laugh. I rested my arms on my knees and looked out over the ocean. Dawn suddenly stood in front of me and reached down to pull me up by the hand. I took her hand and stood up with her. She held my hand and looked at me, turning us toward the city sky as a few fireworks blew up.

Dawn: It’s a big match. But you’re ready for it. I watch Breakdown every week and I promise you the only thing that’s stopped you from getting where you want to be is you. Almost no one else fights like you. You’re a survivor. They put you through anything and you keep getting back up and fighting. You’ll need that to fight Nicole in a few weeks. But you need to take that next step. Evolve a little more. It takes more than surviving to beat Selena Frost.

I looked down, away from the show in the sky, at the sand below me.

Jordan: How do I evolve?

Dawn: Only you really know the answer to that question. But I think you’re close to figuring it out. No one in SCW has improved as much as you have in the last few years. Do you remember how you were when you showed up here?

I laughed and sighed.

Jordan: God, I was such shit.

Dawn: You were cute though.

Jordan: Even with that pink hair?

Dawn: The pink hair had to go!

We both laughed and Dawn pulled me in close and put her arm around my waist to face us toward the night sky.

Dawn: The truth is, you have everything you need to beat Selena or anyone else in this company. Seriously. Anyone. All it takes is putting it all together. I know that’s easier said than done. But Jordan… you are a success story for SCW. You have steadily risen from the bottom. Improved week after week. You’re more than ready for this kind of challenge.

I smiled and leaned my head against Dawn. She pulled me in close and kissed the top of my head as the fireworks picked up pace in the distance in front of us. I felt ready for the challenge with Selena. For the match with Nicole, too. This all felt like a pivotal moment in my career. Not quite make or break, but an opportunity to change the perception people have of me. Just over a year ago I had pinned David Helms and beat him clean. People celebrated it as one of the biggest wins of my career. But only for a week. He won Taking Hold of the Flame and it was forgotten forever.

I was in the midst of a stretch that wouldn’t be forgotten if I completed it. Top 5 at the Flame. Eradicating Konrad from my life. A win against Selena? Against Nicole? Absolute game changers. As the fireworks in the exploded in the sky above us, I couldn’t help but get lost in the warm feeling of luck. I was fortunate to have these people in my life after such a dark patch. Things were finally feeling right. And they were pointing me down the right path. Keeping me focused forward. I had to reward their belief in me with a milestone moment. That’s exactly what I would do against the SCW world champion.

Promo

A camera opens in a dimly lit room. Jordan Majors walks in with a folding chair and sets it up away from the camera. She sits down and leans against the back of the chair with her arms and looks straight ahead.

Opportunity. It’s such a funny word. In this industry, it means everything. An opportunity to prove yourself. To win gold. To gain momentum. Everything revolves around that word. Opportunity. I am no different. I get caught up in it, too. I can tell you about all the times I’ve made the most of it. The times I have failed to do that. I can tell you about all of my title opportunities with one hand.

Jordan holds up one hand with all five fingers out. She pulls it back and leans into the chair.

Few have excited me as much as this one. Me vs. Selena Frost. One on one. We’re talking about the world champion here. A sure-fire future Hall of Famer for this company. And someone I spent a lot of time looking up to. I signed with this company at the end of 2018, right before the End of the Year Battle Royale. And when I did that, I was walking the path of so many of the people I had looked up to in the past. People I patterned myself off of at times. Selena was one of those people.

Jordan smiles and looks up as she thinks about the past.

I was 18 years old when Selena won Tactical Warfare. I was sitting in a room not much bigger than a closet, eating ramen, watching the show through the always open doorway as others with dreams just like mine stared at that screen intently. I’d only barely left home at that point, thrust into Chicago’s independent scene with a vague knowledge of what I was doing and a mask covering my face. I’m not ashamed to say that I was a believer early on.

I saw you live in Chicago once. It made me think… why wear this mask? Who cares what people think about me? Selena is living her life to its true potential. She’s authentic. And maybe in some ways, when I did sign the dotted line and came here… I forgot that. Because you were still doing your thing. I was still enamored. But I was pretending to be someone we all knew I wasn’t. And for that reason, I fucked up all those early opportunities so badly.

She shakes her head and sighs.

You’ve been up and down every road there is in the territories since 2014. Fought all over the world. Defended several championships. You’re among the pinnacle performers of not just women’s wrestling, but wrestling period. You are an icon. Maybe that’s why it felt so good to beat you in the tag league semi-finals.

Jordan smirks and leans back, sitting straight up in the chair.

I thought for a long time about what that match against you would be like. Cookie and I were on a tear. But then, a match against you and Regan? That was a true holy shit moment. But I remembered what you told me. I wasn’t ready. I didn’t want it enough. And then you two beat us. It messed with my head. Because I knew we were ready. I knew how badly I wanted it. But you learned something about me in those semi-finals. You learned how I react when MY back is against the wall.

And now you know. This match is no joke. This is no easy warmup for you to prepare for your first world title defense. Because even with no title on the line, this match means the world to me. I idolized you in ways that are probably silly now, but you stood for the things I wanted to stand for. I was still trying to find my way, and it always seemed so clear for you. My path hasn’t been easy at all. I’ve struggled to find myself. Confidence hasn’t always been easy to come by. I got in with the wrong crowds early on. I’m sure when you look at me you see someone still trying to find their way.

But I don’t feel that way at all.

Jordan puts her hands on the back of the chair and grins.

I went through a rut this year and the world knows it. Hell, it’s Holly’s favorite thing to joke about. I don’t think people know just how rock bottom things got for me. But I turned around and I fought through it. I’ve been fighting the good fight against the true evil of this company. I’ve been doing what I can. After Taking Hold of the Flame I wanted something for myself. Sometimes when you want an opportunity, you have to create it for yourself. That’s why I’m out here challenging someone who so many people fear at Rise to Greatness.

But this, Selena. This fell into my lap. I could not have dreamed of asking for this kind of match. It’s a dream come true. The opportunity to step into a ring, one-on-one, with one of my heroes. This is something I never imagined when I was 18 or 19, hell, before I knew SCW was in my future. I just wanted to be you. Now? I just want to beat you. You are the model for success in the ring that I would love to follow. But I’d rather redefine it. Because I know somewhere out there is some 18 year old girl who is watching me, and I hope I give her something she wants to live up to.

A dream of facing me in the ring. A dream of following in my footsteps. Of passing me.

She smirks again and cocks her head to the side.

Because that’s what this is truly about in the end, right? Not to be you. But to be better than you. You thinking I’m not ready for that would be wrapping yourself in the false security of whatever you can find around you. I know that I have only scratched the surface of what I can do in this company if given the chance. This is a chance to prove that. Back at the gauntlet… even at the scaffold match. I had convinced myself these were the last chances I had to do anything in this company. But there I was in the Flame, lasting over an hour again. Finishing in the top five. Eliminating the most competitors.

I realize now that I don’t have to wait for my turn to come. I have to take every opportunity and I have to prove that I am in the same class as the rest of you. And I will prove that to you, first hand, in the ring this week. You will see that I’m not only capable, but I am ready. I can be every bit the opponent Ace Marshall will be for you in that main event, if not more. You are someone that constantly seems to float around those championship belts, so maybe it’s easy to forget about someone like me. You’ll never forget about me again after this match.

Jordan stands up and she turns the chair around and sits down. She leans forward and looks into the camera.

When you send me your message this week and you tell me to “Believe It,” know that I have believed it from the day I first saw you in this ring. But know that I also believe I am fully capable of being better than you. Not tomorrow. But today. It might take me a lifetime to catch up to the accomplishments of women like you, and Syren and Ravyn… even Bree and Sienna. But I’m not going to be held back by people like you telling me I’m not ready anymore. I don’t have to abide by your imaginary rules.

You can boast about your experience, your victories, your position in the company, but the only thing that matters to me is what I do in that ring. I can still see that 18-year-old girl staring at the posters on her ceiling and dreaming of the matchups with her heroes. She never thought they would be reality. It’s time for me to go and make that girl proud.

Best of luck to you in defending that title at Rise to Greatness, Selena. But don’t expect me to make your road easy and let you waltz into the main event with all the momentum on your side. And if you hang on to that world title, don’t expect this to be the last time you see me coming for you. You can have your match at the biggest show of the year. This is my biggest match of the year. Remember back in January when you told me you needed that win more than me? I need this one more than you. And I will take it. You can take it to the bank, love. Because Jordan Majors is money.

Jordan smirks to the camera one last time and then winks and blows a kiss before standing up and walking out of the frame. The video slowly transitions to black and comes to an end.

Leave a comment